Author Topic: I keep burning my Sabertooth´s  (Read 9131 times)

Offline CorpzeTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
I keep burning my Sabertooth´s
« on: January 21, 2014, 02:54:45 AM »
Hi, i am posting on this forum because i don´t know where else to go, Dimension engineering doesn´t know, my distributer doesn´t know... i don´t have a clue, why i am burning my sabertoot.

Basicly, i have two 12v, 63Ah batteries @ 24v, one sabertooth 2x25 and two regular wheelchair motors.
I have driven the robot fine for several weeks with two smaller 10Ah batteries without any problem.

The problems started when i switched to the bigger, brand new, lead-acid 12v car batteries.

I have a 16mm2 cable with a master switch (200A) on the positive side, connected to a distribution block, and a 4mm2 cable in to the sabertooth

The negative side is connected to the steel frame with a 16mm2 cable. The sabertooth is connected to the frame as well (not on the same place though)

The batteries are hooked up from + to - via a 5cm 16mm2 cable.

The motors are hooked up to the sabertooth via 4mm2 cables.

The sabertooth is hooked up to a Spektrum AR6200.

The batteries has about 24.6V output at the time i measured (after the insident(s))

This is what happend:
I turned the master switch - the Sabertooth went poff... basicly. Resulting that the differential mode went non existing, just barely i could move motor B in micro controller mode. According to Dimension engineering, the RC-chip might have gotten fried.

Second time i tried, i checked all the wiring (again) with no short circuits or anything abnormal in my eyes, it went completly black. nothing, nada.... the R/C reciever just blinks in 1/10th of a second and then it´s black again...

Now to what i have heard that "might" cause these problems:
I have not my + and - cables twinned witch results in high inductens? (spelling)
A severe power rush due to my large batteries?

I don´t know what to do any more :(
pls help // Daniel

Offline Tommy