Author Topic: Amateur Question  (Read 5195 times)

Offline willkTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Amateur Question
« on: September 05, 2012, 07:00:52 PM »
Hi All,

I'm building a little tank robot with my son, but without much basis in electronics finding it a little difficult. Is there anyone who could help us with the electrics, am willing to pay for someones time to tell us how to design what we're after. I believe I can do the programming (am programmer by trade), but need to work out how to fit all the electronic components together with correct voltages etc.

Parts List (all specs on http://www.pololu.com/):
120:1 Mini Plastic Gearmotor Offset 2mm Spline Output x 2 (one for each track)
Pololu Qik 2s9v1 Dual Serial Motor Controller
Baby Orangutan B-328 Robot Controller
Lithium Ion Battery Cell - 3.7V 2000mAh
MMA7361L 3-Axis Accelerometer ±1.5/6g
QTR-1RC Reflectance Sensor
Computer Fan (This 40mm x 10mm fan, part number AD0412HB-G70 has 2 ball bearings for long life and a 2 pin PCB connector. 
Computer Fan specifications:
Voltage, 12V
Voltage Range, 6-13.8V
Current, 0.09Amps
Speed, 6000RPM at rated voltage and zero pressure

We also want to be able to control the speed of the fan via a knob.
We want the ability to set a timer, so would need a clock that the robot controller can grab the time from
Lastly, we want the battery to be rechargeable without disconnecting anything (e.g. a separate cable that we can plug into a charger without disconnecting battery from robot)

I know it's a big ask, but if you're after a little cash throw me a quote :-))

Cheers,
- Will

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Amateur Question
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2012, 12:36:28 AM »
Hi,

[...] need to work out how to fit all the electronic components together with correct voltages etc.
[...]
Lithium Ion Battery Cell - 3.7V 2000mAh
[...]
Computer Fan specifications:
Voltage, 12V
Voltage Range, 6-13.8V