Author Topic: $50 robot programing  (Read 16153 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #30 on: April 21, 2007, 06:53:51 PM »
I was doubtful and thats why I asked.
Kinda like an h-bridge, but with only 2 amps  <-couldn't find better word
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #31 on: April 22, 2007, 12:01:41 PM »
anyone ever tried modifing servo's by taking the pot out completely, and puting resistor? stupid mcu won't program, so I might have to do that.
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Bonzai Clif

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
  • Physics teacher
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #32 on: May 01, 2007, 05:44:51 PM »
I have been trying to have my Advanced Physics class make the $50 robot with various levels of success and frustration. 

Out main problem now is that the kids and I that have finished making the circuit and have got to loading the program stage.

We are using AVR studio with the USB programmer adapter.  It will connect fine and load the program but has failed always at the read verify stage. We have gone over and over the circuit and see no problems.

Is there anybody out there than can give us a new direction to solve this?  We are so close it hurts.......

Offline JonHylands

  • Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 562
  • Helpful? 3
  • Robot Builder/ Software Developer
    • Jon's Place
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #33 on: May 01, 2007, 06:32:51 PM »
For me, programming typically fails when I have a couple of the pins shorted together that aren't supposed to be, which is common when doing surface mount work. For what you're doing, its most likely a wire connected to the wrong place.

- Jon

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #34 on: May 01, 2007, 07:46:01 PM »
hmmmm this is a tough one . . . ???

a few 'stupid' checks first:
make sure the board is getting proper power when programming, try a different battery, etc.
turn off the read verify and see if the robot works without it
make sure there arent any loose (sometimes connected) wires

Which programmer are you using, the AVR STK Serial Port Dongle Programmer or the more expensive AVR ISP 2?

Can you also supply a screen shot of the failure?

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #35 on: May 01, 2007, 08:47:01 PM »
hmmmm this is a tough one . . . ???

a few 'stupid' checks first:
make sure the board is getting proper power when programming, try a different battery, etc.
turn off the read verify and see if the robot works without it
make sure there arent any loose (sometimes connected) wires

Which programmer are you using, the AVR STK Serial Port Dongle Programmer or the more expensive AVR ISP 2?

Can you also supply a screen shot of the failure?
are you talking about the cable? I though they were all teh same.



BTW when programing my mcu, did you use my cable?
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Bonzai Clif

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
  • Physics teacher
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #36 on: May 01, 2007, 09:45:01 PM »
Our problem deviated from (Admin's pics) when I got the programmer port and it had a 6 pin configuration not the ten that is on the web site.  So we had to make that conversion.

We have the pin outs connected to the appropriate pins so from what you are saying, we need to change batteriers and recheck the wiring.

Here is one question that the students have.  When does the LED on the circuit board come on?  Is it suppose to happen when you plug in the power or is it when the chip is up and running?  I realize this might be a stupid question but those can be the most perplexing. Duh.

Thanks for any and all help.....

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #37 on: May 02, 2007, 04:56:17 AM »
Quote
BTW when programing my mcu, did you use my cable?
I used the more expensive programmer. I havent had much free time lately so I havent been able to debug the problems I have had with my cheaper programmer . . .

Quote
Our problem deviated from (Admin's pics) when I got the programmer port and it had a 6 pin configuration not the ten that is on the web site.
Which programmer are you using? The more expensive one comes with both a 6 pin and 10 pin adapter.

Quote
When does the LED on the circuit board come on?
Well it is supposed to come on right when you turn it on, but I made a dumb mistake in the code. Ill show you how to fix it.

In the file Photovore_v1.c, look for this line:
LED_off();//turn LED on

If it isnt already obvious, change that to LED_on();//turn LED on
Then just compile it again.

I think I was debugging the code, changed it, and then didnt change it back . . . The servos should work either way.

Ill be coming out with some newer simpler code soon. Ill also soon come out with some test code so that you can verify that your board is working properly.

Offline ed1380Topic starter

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,478
  • Helpful? 3
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #38 on: May 02, 2007, 05:23:41 AM »
so the cable is called the programmer? I bet the software is called the compiler then?
so you programmed both of our bots with the expensive cable?
Problems making the $50 robot circuit board?
click here. http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #39 on: May 02, 2007, 06:49:58 AM »
yup 8)

Offline Bonzai Clif

  • Beginner
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Helpful? 0
  • Physics teacher
Re: $50 robot programing
« Reply #40 on: May 02, 2007, 09:40:41 AM »

Quote
Which programmer are you using? The more expensive one comes with both a 6 pin and 10 pin adapter.

We got the AVR ISP mkII.  It only came with a 6 pin connector

Quote
When does the LED on the circuit board come on?
Well it is supposed to come on right when you turn it on, but I made a dumb mistake in the code. Ill show you how to fix it.

In the file Photovore_v1.c, look for this line:
LED_off();//turn LED on

If it isnt already obvious, change that to LED_on();//turn LED on
Then just compile it again.

Fixed that but still have no light on.

 We still need to try programming with a different battery pack.  Thanks again

 


Get Your Ad Here