Author Topic: Newbie question - USB or Parallel Port?  (Read 1908 times)

Offline aljaffeeTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Newbie question - USB or Parallel Port?
« on: June 01, 2009, 01:45:49 AM »
Hi, I am new to this board and want to thank everyone in advance for reading this question and for any input you can give.  I want to make an industrial robot, that is a robot that will help me assemble a product.  I am a computer programmer but have no experience yet with robotics.  This robot will always be wired to a laptop or PC (unless bluetooth makes more sense and if it does, please enlighten me).  From what I have read so far on the internet, I will need to control/receive data back from the robot via the parallel port of the laptop or PC.  My question is, can I use a USB port instead (my current laptop does not have a parallel port and I don't know if I need to order online a parallel port to USB adapter or not first)?  What are the advantages and disadvantages of each?  Which is easier to program or setup?  

There is one thing you should know as well.  I am planning on having maybe like 50 different motors/servos in this robot.  Would I have to use multiple parallel/usb ports to accomplish this?