go away spammer

Author Topic: Building a Flying Robot  (Read 41893 times)

Offline KaweSTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
  • love, peace & unity
    • my crappy robots ;]
Building a Flying Robot
« on: January 31, 2008, 02:13:01 AM »
hi,
i'm new to robotics as well. my advantages are that i can program in C [for computers, but someone already did mention it will take me a day to learn in] and i can spend a bit more ;p
my disadvantage is that i didn't even build a $50 robot ;p
i built just a 'vehicle' based on 2 CDs, polyester body and a DC motor form my ex-CD-ROM ;] it can go forward and even backward if i change connections ;ppp
i know that's nothing, but i'm a bit ambitious and i learn really fast if i want to learn something

i'd like to build a robot which can fly [preferably with wings - not rotors] [see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5hGYWVdzVk] but definitely not r/c but autonomous. i want it to fly around me and avoid obstacles.
i guess i'll need lots of sensors and quite good ic.

ok - now the questions ;p
how can i tell the robot where am i? satnav or what? ;p i don't expect to come to me hundreds of miles, but let's say from my room to kitchen ;p i want to put for example plan of my flat and use wavefront algorithm - is that a good idea?
what kind of ICs could i need? i think lot's of memory and fast processing time - maybe 8 bit is not enough?
what materials can i use? what for body/wings?
what about flying time? i don't want it to run just for 5 minutes... i know - more power - heavier batteries
what about costs... i know i cannot expect too good news regarding this point ;p

to be honest i'm thinking already about version 2, but for now that's enough ;p

thanks a lot for any help and ideas ;]

cheers,
Karol

Offline skatj

• Helpful? 0
Re: Building a Flying Robot
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 12:14:57 AM »