go away spammer

Author Topic: Intro & Aquabotic Project Idea  (Read 1993 times)

Offline promsanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Intro & Aquabotic Project Idea
« on: May 09, 2009, 02:49:44 PM »
Hello,

I just found this site after a while of googling, and have had a bit of a read of some of the help, and it seems pretty good.

I'm a British electronics student (I'm near the end of an MEng), and I'm looking into the feasibility of a particular project.

I've been googling a lot and found a lot of info, and just wanted to discuss some ideas and get some thoughts from you all, if that's ok?

The idea is to make an aquatic robotic platform for monitoring wildlife. It's just one idea for a final individual project for next year, so there's time enough to play around with ideas.

A rough outline of specs is that the platform should be able to cope with becoming tangled in weeds or flipped over; and it should have video cameras both above and below the surface.
 After that, the idea would be to add a range of sensors and a datalogger and other bits and bobs.

One idea is to make a catamaran, with small turbines built into the chassis - either a couple that could be controlled independently for steering; or one at the back and steering fins.

I thought about just making an RNLI-style self righting boat shape out of styrefoam; and a more standard morphology.

I personally would like to make a homemade AUV, but I'm aware that trying to transmit live video to the surface via sonar could be a big project initself (but I'm not necessarily put off by that).

Still, it might be best to just keep it simple and make a H-frame with a watertight box for battery, microchip, memory, datalogger, comms, and sensor circuitry, with a couple of aerials - one for

Another issue is that I'm not entirely sure how much power consumption I'm looking at for all this stuff.