go away spammer

Author Topic: Analog Input Atmega48  (Read 3367 times)

Offline robokiTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Analog Input Atmega48
« on: May 10, 2008, 08:01:01 PM »
Hi...
I am a novice student, who's just gotten use to using digital I/O for Atmega MCU series.
I am using Atmega48, and I can use basic digital sensors (Ultrasonic,touch).
I have a pretty strong background in programming, but I am new to hardware stuff.
So here is my question...
I know that Atmega48 has A/D input pins. If I want to use analog sensors (IRsharp), do I have to get an external A/D converter?
From the 50$ robot code, it seems like you connect the sensor directly to the MCU...
Does this mean the MCU is able to read analog data?
Also, how can a MCU "read" analog data with just one pin?
From the source code,
"IR_value = analogRead(0);//use pin 0 for analog"
If I type this, does it read analog value from the sensor?
From my understandings, analogRead () is not a command known in C language...o.O
Can someone explain to me the logic behind A/D in MCU?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2008, 08:35:32 PM by roboki »

Offline izua

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
    • izua electronics
Re: Analog Input Atmega48
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2008, 10:59:21 PM »
well, it's not a standard function. you'll have to include a library. C doesn't have any functions by itself.
the MCU is able to read analog data with one pin, or more (if required).

The A/D is a simple hardware. A sample-and-hold capacitor charges (to be able to sample the right signal, for instance, or to integrate fast pwm signals). Comparing the cap value is done in a lot of ways nowdays, the most common beeing a succesive aproximation. A comparator "iterates" through a range of voltages, fed by a DAC read from the previous value.
Check out my homepage for in depth tutorials on microcontrollers and electronics.

Offline superchiku

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 5
  • cooll
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2008, 12:48:16 AM »