go away spammer

Author Topic: Cybernetics  (Read 2202 times)

Offline JdogTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 3
Cybernetics
« on: February 24, 2009, 07:41:56 PM »
Lately I've been searching around for possible divisions of robotics to possibly make a career out of and I've been becoming very interested in cybernetics and things along those lines. I was wondering if anyone knew much about the subject i.e. top schools, difficulty level, is there anyway I could experiment with it without performing surgery on myself :P, etc.

Offline Webbot

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 111
    • Webbot stuff
Re: Cybernetics
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 09:07:43 PM »
I studied Cybernetics and Control Engineering here in the UK. At the time (late 1970s) only 2 universities did the course. I went to Reading (where Prof Warwick now works - the guy who is always implanting stuff into his limbs!).

I went into it coz I was interested in robotics BUT the course was much wider than I had imagined (not sure about now). It was basically a mix of most engineering disciplines (electrical / electronic / mechanical / chemical / software etc etc) so electronics/robots was only a small element of the total. At the time the definition was 'the study of feedback in man and machine' which meant we even had boring lectures on stuff like studying 'towns and communities' which (just like a servo) can become unstable - no jobs, everyone moves out, property prices drop, everyone moves back in, etc.... So 'town planners' had to understand how to grow a town without it becoming unstable.