go away spammer

Author Topic: What is the best system to work with Axon  (Read 2654 times)

Offline heliTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
What is the best system to work with Axon
« on: November 07, 2014, 01:15:51 AM »
Hi Guys

I have just purchased the Axon 2 and intend to use this device for a lot of cool things but Windows 8 just does not like it.
I want to go out and buy a dedicated laptop for this work with the Axon 2 processor.
I am a mechanical engineer by trade and its been a while since my old programing days but looking forward to using the Axon 2, hence the programming/ bootloading issues.

What is the best system to get and what should I be looking or asking for? Is this a used computer hunt problem for an old 32 Bit system?
I don't intend to use that laptop for any other tasks but program development.
It appears from previous posts on the site that Windows Vista and later systems have problems that take cause pain to the user to try and get it right.
I would like to know the system details from guys that have had no problems with the Axon right out of the box. I would like to buy or put together a similar system.
Yes, it is a different way to solve this problem but in my opinion has the lowest stress factor.

Cheers Heli

Offline mallster

• Helpful? 2
Re: What is the best system to work with Axon
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2014, 01:35:44 AM »
I've found windows 7 64-bit and webbot studio to work well. However have not been able to workaround compile errors with webbot studio and windows 8.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2014, 01:01:09 AM »
Yes, McUber freezes up my whole system when bootloading with Windows 8.
Can windows 7 run on a 32 bit option from the start up disk?

Heli

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2014, 02:01:22 AM »