Author Topic: Building a simple robot..... need advice  (Read 1892 times)

Offline YazmanTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Building a simple robot..... need advice
« on: August 01, 2014, 11:56:57 PM »
I am a total "newbie" in this world of robotics.  I

have spent the better part of two days trying to figure out how to make a simple robot that has an arm that goes down and back up at a specific angle and repeats this action every five seconds.

The function of the robot is to continuously tap on a specific part of an iPad screen and prevent it from falling asleep.

From what I can gather (and may I mention I have never done this before) I need to compile the following parts......

1.  Servo Motor
2.  Servo controller
3.  Power source
4.  Robot Arm (C-channel aluminum)
5.  Software to program the servo controller.

All the servo controllers that I find control multiple servos.  I don't need multiple servo control.

USB powered would be ideal.

Any advice on how to make this device cheaply please let me know.

Thanks!

Offline jkerns

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 12
Re: Building a simple robot..... need advice
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 11:33:40 AM »
I suspect that the simplest to program and low cost choice for controlling your servo would be one of the Arduino boards. They will have more capability than you need, but you aren't going to find anything much less expensive.

The Arduino will run off a USB and supply what you need for the pulse modulated signal to command a servo position, but I suspect that you will need a bit more juice for the actual servo power than you can get from a USB.

Many servo motor controlled arms that I have seen can be jerky and bouncy - you would want something that has some spring to it to actually touch the ipad.
I get paid to play with robots - can't beat that with a stick.

http://www.ltu.edu/engineering/mechanical/bachelor-science-robotics-engineering.asp

Offline DiegoChavez

• Helpful? 0