go away spammer

Author Topic: Underwater Personal sonar devices  (Read 12869 times)

Offline jreilly2Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Underwater Personal sonar devices
« on: February 23, 2010, 04:34:49 PM »
Hello all,
I'm working on a project and have hit a technical wall. I am looking at using a sonar unit inside of swimming pools that will help alert blind swimmers as to location of obstacles and walls. I am having issues with medium transfer, as well as cost. I need a inexpensive, short-range active sonar unit that can trip a vibrating wrist band. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly greatly appreciated!
Jeff Reilly

Offline madsci1016

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 43
    • Personal Website
Re: Underwater Personal sonar devices
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 08:47:07 PM »
This is going to be a tough one.

I work for the Navy, and while i'm not a sonar expert, i work with the experts and know a few things.

Sonar in closed bodies of water is a very bad thing. You get a lot of interference called Multi-Path. It take a lot of expensive signal processing hardware to understand the data coming from a Sonar head.

They only thing i can recommend, is look for really cheap marine depth finders.

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2010, 08:46:20 PM »
Thats kind of what I was thinking would happen. Any thoughts on another tech. that would fit the bill? I have been trying to build my own 'invisible fence' rig, but have been facing issues with proximity error and the fact that that would require a signal antenna around the pool. Thanks again for the reply!

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2010, 09:07:42 PM »
Hi.

Any thoughts on another tech. that would fit the bill?
Ultrasound (for over the water) might work if it can be water proofed, but as with sonar, strap it to eg. the head of a swimmer and you have no chance of telling where it points.