Author Topic: Live control of DC motor with simulink  (Read 3248 times)

Offline signiousTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Live control of DC motor with simulink
« on: November 14, 2011, 01:52:21 PM »
Hello, I am wondering what would be a good (economical) control board to use to control a DC motor with a rotational encoder feeding back into simulink.

My budged for the board is around $200, but would be nice if I can find something under $100.  I am fairly new to having an actual physical element, but am well versed in the virtual side of control systems.

Thanks, N

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Live control of DC motor with simulink
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2011, 02:29:39 PM »
Hi,

Hello, I am wondering what would be a good (economical) control board to use to control a DC motor with a rotational encoder feeding back into simulink.

My budged for the board is around $200, but would be nice if I can find something under $100.  I am fairly new to having an actual physical element, but am well versed in the virtual side of control systems.
Assuming you need USB(?), just about any board with USB ability should do. A couple of lines for controlling the motor (Speed via PWM and direction if needed), 2 input lines for the encoder and 2 USB lines - you cannot find a board that haven't got plenty more, but you have to work a bit to find them at over $100.

Perhaps take a look at this board. It's $27 and has ample power.

No matter what board you get, you'll need a motor driver to go between the board and the motor. This can be bought ready made or made for fairly cheap.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2011, 08:49:00 PM »