Author Topic: Super debris collecting robot  (Read 6791 times)

Offline oojimaflipsTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Super debris collecting robot
« on: January 16, 2007, 05:28:18 PM »
Hi,

I'm a student on my penultimate year.

My project consists of building a robot that will collect debris in a radioactive field, collecting hot and cold debris.

My question is, given unlimited funding what would you have on the robot?

My ideas of current technologies are limited, but if someone can give me a link or directions to research things such as
Nasa robots that would be extremely helpful!

Also can anyone tell me what is the nearest an object can be recognised using a sharp IR range finder?

Thanks,

Steve

EDIT: Oh I also should mention that the robot must be autonomous, so no remote control abillity :(
« Last Edit: January 17, 2007, 03:10:12 PM by oojimaflips »

Offline JesseWelling

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 0
  • Only You Can Build A Robot!
Re: Super debris collecting robot
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2007, 06:01:37 PM »
about the range finder....that depends on the model.
this place has a good selection: http://www.junun.org/MarkIII/Store.jsp
the most comon model does 10cm to 80cm but once you get out past 80cm it starts to bounce up and down. which means it's effective range is about 50-60cm (haven't thuroughly tested yet).

There is another that does 4cm to 30cm.

As for what I would use for sensors here you go.

Visual Navigation: http://www.ptgrey.com/products/spherical.asp

Collision Detection: http://www.mysick.com/saqqara/pdf.aspx?id=im0012759 (probably more than one)

GPS: http://www.u-blox.com/products/sbr_ls.html (probably in conjuction with IMU system)

the list could go on but you get the picture

Offline Militoy

• Expert Roboticist
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2007, 06:47:13 PM »