go away spammer

Author Topic: DC Motor Question  (Read 5001 times)

Offline HypnobeardTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
DC Motor Question
« on: November 26, 2006, 06:04:53 AM »
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to the practical side of robot building, and have almost completed construction on my first autonomous bot. I studied Cybernetics at university, so I'm alright at the software stuff, but the electronics can stump me sometimes.

I'm using a PIC16F876 to control a differential drive 'bot using 2 DC motors. The test circuit I've made uses an H-Bridge to control the direction of the motor. The circuit is set up on a prototyping board. I know the control signal from the control circuit is OK. The output of the H-Bridge is providing a voltage drop of +3.3V across the connector for the motor. however, when I actually connect the motor, it nothing happens (the motor doesn't turn). If I measure the voltage across the connection terminal again, I get ~+0.5V. If I simply connect the battery cells directly to the motor, it turns fine, as I'd expect. The motor is rated to operate at 3V.

What am I doing wrong, and why isn't my motor turning when it's connected to the circuit?

It's doing my nut now, and I'd appreciate some help!

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: DC Motor Question
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2006, 09:57:11 AM »
It appears that your circuit isnt supplying enough current to run the motors, and the voltage is dropping because of this. Check the current draw both at the power source (before the circuit), but also at the motor (after the circuit), too. This will tell you where the power drain is happening at . . .

I am guessing you are PWM'ing MOSFETS? Are you doing 100% PWM (keeping the lines high)?

It's doing my nut now
wha?!  :P

Dont feel bad, my first H-bridge melted and burned my hand  ;D

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2006, 10:25:28 AM »
Hey Admin,