go away spammer

Author Topic: Will my Motor Driver Design 'splode?  (Read 1308 times)

Offline BigKLaxerTopic starter

• Helpful? 2
    • Power Wheels Robot Project
Will my Motor Driver Design 'splode?
« on: February 13, 2012, 08:58:10 AM »
So I've been using two relay H-Bridge motor controllers I built for my 4WD Experimental Robotics Platform with one controller per side, but the motors are very unhappy at being instantaneously turned on and off, so I'm attempting to design a PWM H Bridge I can use for softer starts and stops.  This is my first attempt at designing a PCB so I'm looking for constructive criticism about how I can make this design better.  The pics of the schematic and board are below.  Let me know what you guys think!  Thanks!
Experimental Mobile Robotics Platform: http://www.udrobot.blogspot.com

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Re: Will my Motor Driver Design 'splode?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 12:06:31 PM »
Hi,

So I've been using two relay H-Bridge motor controllers I built for my 4WD Experimental Robotics Platform with one controller per side, but the motors are very unhappy at being instantaneously turned on and off,
Snubbers over the contacts (and a delay when changing direction) would help.

so I'm attempting to design a PWM H Bridge I can use for softer starts and stops. 
Unless you use PWM, it won't change a thing.
You could use PWM with a single MOSFET and a relay to achieve this as well.

This is my first attempt at designing a PCB so I'm looking for constructive criticism about how I can make this design better.  The pics of the schematic and board are below.  Let me know what you guys think!  Thanks!
The PCB would indeed "explode" the very first time you energized it  :)
You need wide, really wide, traces for the motor current and it's almost always a good idea to keep traces as wide as space allow.