go away spammer

Author Topic: bottle opening robot arm  (Read 6476 times)

Offline mskTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
bottle opening robot arm
« on: October 30, 2008, 09:05:55 AM »
I want to make a robot arm that can locate a small bottle on a table, unscrew the cap of the bottle, locate all glasses on the table, then distribute the content of the bottle into all glasses on the table and finally recap the bottle.

I have no experience with mechanical engineering, but I have a friend who works at the mechanical engineering institute at my university who says he can help me out with making parts as long as I design them myself. Because of this I was thinking of perhaps buying a lynxmotion robot arm to use as a base. What my robot arm will be lifting will weight around 75-150 g, so it looks like the SES Arm might be strong enough, but not the Lynx 5 and Lynx 6 arm.

I'm a bit unsure yet of how to make something that can unscrew a bottle cap, but I'm thinking that I should mount an additional rotating gripper perpendicular to the main gripper, that can move up and down to align the extra gripper with the bottle cap and rotate to unscrew or rescrew. I'm not sure how much such a gripper would weigh, and I think it might perhaps weight too much for the SES Arm, so I might have to do something else.

To locate the bottle and the glasses I want to use computer vision, either mounting something like the Backfin SRV-1 on the arm, or hanging a webcam above the table. If I hang a webcam above the table, then locating the center of the bottle and the glasses shouldn't be too hard as they will be circles, and the color can also be used to distinguish them as the bottle will have a colored cap. Then I would just store the height of the glasses and the bottle in the software and it should then be able to calculate the positions it has to move the arm to do everything.

I would appreciate if anyone has any other suggestions for how to do this.

Offline Xone G0D

• Helpful? 0