Author Topic: Understanding Atmega8: ADC and Bit precision  (Read 4955 times)

Offline GophermofurTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Understanding Atmega8: ADC and Bit precision
« on: March 04, 2010, 11:46:28 AM »
Hey Guys,

Alright, I'm fairly new to electronics in general but I'm slowly working my way through as much material as I can find, however, I've hit a stumbling block.

What I *think* i know, as in pertains to the Atmega8, please correct me if I'm wrong:
1. A port is made up of several pins.
2. Each pin can only have a value of 0 or 1 (0V or 5V)

Now for the question:

After reading the Fuzzy Logic tutorial, I got confused because it mentions that you can have values 0 - 255 coming from a photoresistor. I understand the ADC converts an analog signal into digital, but how can it convert it to a value between 0 - 255 if the pin can only handle 0/1? Do ADC pins have special properties that allow for more bits? I did read somewhere on the Atmel guide for the Atmega8 that the ADC can handle 10-bit's, but I'm not sure why or how?

Thanks in advance!

Offline chelmi

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
    • Current projects
Re: Understanding Atmega8: ADC and Bit precision
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2010, 01:40:32 PM »
Hi,

All of the pins can be used as General Purpose Input/Ouput (GPIO). These can be set high (5V) or low (0V) if used as output, or read high or low (another name for 0 or 1) when set as input.
These pins are grouped into ports, but this is not relevant now. Some pins can also be configured for specific purpose, analog to digital conversion being one of them.

When a pin is set to ADC input, it is rerouted internally to a specific device called ... ADC :)
This device takes an analog voltage as input, between 0 and 5V (the max value can be configured) and outputs a 10 bits value. 10 bits means that you will get a number between 0 and 1024 (2^10),