Author Topic: Need to build a rotating camera device  (Read 4293 times)

Offline phoenix1Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Need to build a rotating camera device
« on: December 11, 2010, 11:11:50 PM »
Hi,
I am working on a project that requires me to build what is essentially a camera monopod, but with a head that rotates 360 degrees (in 13 increments) and vertically 180 degrees (in 11 increments).
This new device will be an improvement over an existing design, which uses servo motors (would stepper motors be better?). Problem with that device is that its made of wood and the movements are very inaccurate.
The object is to take 100+ pictures which are then put together in a panorama-like picture.
Money is not a problem, I should be able to afford the needed parts.

I have no experience working with servo motors or robotics. Any helpful advice that gives me a better understanding or even tutorials that show me how to build something like this are welcome.

Offline MrWizard

• Helpful? 0
  • My cylon friend told me a killing joke......
Re: Need to build a rotating camera device
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2010, 03:43:12 AM »
If you can program the camera to take pictures every 2 seconds, you can use the $50 boardcontroller to control the 2 servo's  to move and wait. In this way you split up the functions, but in this way you have to time everything.
Use accurate Servo's.  Otherwise the steppermotors will be the solution.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2010, 02:51:44 PM »
Hi,

I am working on a project that requires me to build what is essentially a camera monopod,
You'll have to make a very stable stand for it. More important than any number of snaps.

but with a head that rotates 360 degrees (in 13 increments) and vertically 180 degrees (in 11 increments).
Sounds like quite an overlap for stitching?
360°/12=30°each step and if you really do mean 360°/13, it's ~27.7°/step.