Author Topic: iRobot Create HS-322HD Servo Not Working  (Read 4205 times)

Offline seyedTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
iRobot Create HS-322HD Servo Not Working
« on: March 13, 2013, 06:16:07 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm new to robotics and any hardware related stuff, so please bear with me.  I connected a Hitec HS-322HD servo to the BAM module on an iRobot Create, with the yellow wire connected to one of the digital outputs, the black wire connected to ground, and the red wire connected to power (I tried Vpw, Vsw, and +5V with the same results---which is best to use?), and when I turn on the robot, the servo jitters (moves a little back and forth once).  The manual says that the digital output should be on high for three seconds, but I'm pretty sure the jitter happens after the three seconds; it happens right after the light flashes and before the robot makes a sound.  Also when I send a digital output signal to the robot (using a Python wrapper over the OI), nothing happens, but when I set the digital output to low again, the servo jitters. 

Thus, it seems like in both cases when the digital output transitions from on to off is the only time it does something.  Do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong?  I tried an independent robot, servo, and BAM with the same results.

Thanks in advance!

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Re: iRobot Create HS-322HD Servo Not Working
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 06:05:44 PM »
After talking to someone, I realized I need to be using PWM, but that doesn't seem to make the servo move either.  I noticed a couple other posts about this issue, but none seemed to get resolved.  I'm sending a PWM signal for 2 ms every 20 ms.  I tried different values and it didn't seem to change anything.  The duty cycle I'm sending is 13 (out of 128 max).  Does anyone know what the issue is?

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2013, 07:45:49 PM »