Author Topic: Motor Sizing  (Read 2794 times)

Offline mbahrTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Motor Sizing
« on: February 13, 2011, 11:55:08 PM »
Hello,

I'm new to robotics and, thus, this forum.

I'm trying to use the RMF calculator to get a feel for the size of a motor I may want.  I'm doing something wrong... most suredly messing up the unit conversations but am not certain.

Here are my assumptions:

20lb robot
4 ft/s velocity (walking speed)
.25 ft/ss accelleration
75% efficiency
10% incline
.5 foot wheel (6")
2 powered wheels

This produced a RMF of 61.6.  Yikes.  I presume this is to maintain speed up the inclince.

It also produced a 2.65 RMF (zero incline).

Other numbers were 100 for momentum, 191 rpm, and 1.08 watts.

As I look around at motors...  I see that most motors will fall well below the 2.65 RMF needed for level movement, much less the 61.6 RMF.

I did stumble across the IG52-04 ( http://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop/item.aspx?itemid=873 ).  This unit produces 23 kgf-cm at 136 rpm.  I presume that I convert the 23 kgf-cm to lb-ft by multiplying by 0.07234 to arrive at 1.66 lb-ft.

Plugging 1.66 lb-ft and 136rpm results in 3.77 RMF.

So...  Two of these motors will keep the robot going at 5 ft/s on level ground and have a *little* grunt left over for inclines.  But I'm going to see serious degradation as it climbs up a slope.  

This seems like a pretty heavy duty motor for such low performance like this.

Is my math off?  Should I be somehow considering the fact that this motor has a 1:26 reduction gearbox? 

-Mike

« Last Edit: February 14, 2011, 12:10:54 AM by mbahr »

Offline Conscripted

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 10
Re: Motor Sizing
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 02:27:41 PM »
Hello. On the page you sent us to there is a force conversion page directly below the table. HERE. It states "To convert kgf to lbf multiply by 2.205" That might affect your numbers a little.

Conscripted

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0