Author Topic: Trying to make a simple series of timed events...  (Read 1623 times)

Offline gobo760Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Trying to make a simple series of timed events...
« on: July 18, 2011, 04:23:48 AM »
Hi, I'm completely new to the world of micro-controllers.  I've always been old school up until now and, when I needed to automate something, I would just build it out of a mess of 12 volt relays and timer kits.  I have a project right now where I have to automate a machine that's pneumatically driven (it's a machine that fills boxes of wine) and I need to control 9 different pressurized air valves per station and there's 10 stations, so I'm looking at around 90 electrically controlled air valves.  Each batch of 9 valves basically does stuff based on timed events.  The operator hits the "Start" button, at which point that stations control panel LED changes from green to red, and an electric actuator opens a fill valve and the bag starts to fill.  The bag is sitting on a scale so once the scale gets to 30lbs, a circuit on the scale is closed and the fill actuator turns off.  After 5 seconds, the next valve opens, which pressurizes a pneumatic piston that pushes the wine box pour spout closed (the bags get filled through the pour spout head) and then while the piston is holding the pour spout closed, another valve opens, blasting the inside of the spout with pressurized water to wash out the residue.  It then closes 4 seconds later and another valve opens which blasts 300PSI pressurized air in to the valve to dry it.  At that point, the pneumatic piston valve closes and an air relief valve opens to retract the piston and then closes.  At that point, the control panel LED for that station goes from red back to green to tell the operator to pull the release handle to drop the bag in to the box, attach the new bag to the fill head, hit "START" and move on to the next station (the operator just keeps walking in a constant loop around the stations whic