Author Topic: My first robot  (Read 7978 times)

Offline erikgustafTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
My first robot
« on: January 16, 2009, 02:51:53 PM »
Hi, Im making my own robot from scratch, But i have no idea how to build it.
Sure i have read some of the tutorial but there is no tutorial on how to create a 3-5ft tall robot?

But i have drawed him on a paper, written the functions, i know what materials should be used to build the robot except the main materials like servos,sensors etc.

Can someone link me to a site there i can buy parts from?
Or if not that, can you tell me what parts i should get and i should try googling them and then buy.
First i need to research, i wont waste my money on things that wont work, it must fit my robot,
Should i explain how it should be build, and what functions it will have?

P.S. The Robot will be programmed in C++, if you wont recommend that as a beginner, I could try something else but im a beginner at programming too...

Offline frodo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2
  • BOW DOWN TO MY MIGHTY STARE!!
Re: My first robot
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 02:58:50 PM »
what country do you live in? because that then depends on the shops. also, what do you want your robot to do?
OMG!!!! I AM SUPREME ROBOT!!!

Check out my Web

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 03:02:49 PM »
I live in Germany, I just want my robot to walk around the house, thats the basic part, when i succeed with that, i will move upwards and then comes the programming of the camera, i want the camera to look around when it moves, not just look straight forward...

Is there anyway to do this?
It should also detect any sounds, any movements, light/dark etc.

Oh i almost forgot, The servo and the "engine" must be very powerful as i will add functions afterwards...

I also need many inputs because of the sensors and extra misc
« Last Edit: January 16, 2009, 03:05:38 PM by erikgustaf »

Offline frodo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 2