go away spammer

Author Topic: How to convert c code to assembly code  (Read 18123 times)

Offline The Big BTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
How to convert c code to assembly code
« on: June 10, 2010, 02:04:06 PM »
Hello,

I'm relatively new to PIC microcontroller world and so far I have been writing the programs for my PIC in assembly code. The problem I am finding is that the majority of examples codes are using c. Is there a program that can convert c code into assembly language?

Alternatively can anyone tell me how to load a c program onto the PIC? I have tried a program called mplab but I could get it to work with my velleman k8048, if anyone could answer that it would be great too.

Thanks!

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: How to convert c code to assembly code
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 03:08:16 PM »
Is there a program that can convert c code into assembly language?
Yes, it called a Compiler.

Alternatively can anyone tell me how to load a c program onto the PIC?
You can't directly. The C code must be Compiled into Machine Language (hex code) to be loaded into a PIC (or any other processor for that matter). There are several steps in going from C code to Machine Language that usaully includes Assember at some point.
The same happens when you write Assembler code. The Assembler converts what you write into Machine Language. It is this 'hex' file that the programmer loads into the processor.
In MPLAB open View the Program Memory after building a project. This is the Machine Language code that is loaded into the processor and is described in the data sheet under instruction set.

Microchip has C compilers available. The limited versions are free and can be downloaded from their web site.

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2010, 06:32:47 AM »