Author Topic: New guy robot questions  (Read 4942 times)

Offline SpiffyguyTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
New guy robot questions
« on: February 29, 2008, 08:12:10 PM »
Howdy folks.  New guy here.  Let me start by saying thanks right off the bat for all the great information on this site.  I am learning quite a bit.  I have decided to start learning to make a robot.  I have been learning a little C/C+ but I have nothing to really program.  So I figured I would learn how to program a robot.  I am still very new to electronics,  I can solder and have a basic understanding but I an not well versed in schematics and such. 

So here is my plan.  I want to create a wheeled robot that will be able to do a variety of things.  I will start with the simple and work towards the more complex.  The basics would be to move and avoid obstacles.  The more complex would be to maybe do some terrain mapping?  or track through an obsacle course to a certain object. I have a bunch of RC car parts so I am going to use them.  Once the car is moveable then I can look into adding on some electronics that will perform my tasks.

As any new guy I have questions.  As I am progressing through the myriad of car parts, all from about 15 years ago, I am trying to think of what is best to use.  I have a few electronic speed controls and one mechanical speed control.  I am not completely sure if they work at this point.  I have forgotten most of my RC wiring skills so I am having to learn that too.  I am thinking that a mechanical speed control will be easier to use since it is just a servo to move the control.  But I have heard that if you run a mechanical speed control at a low speed it can burn it up.  So question number one is: mechanical or electronic speed control.