Author Topic: newbie...building bot  (Read 4687 times)

Offline crazydude1Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
newbie...building bot
« on: August 30, 2007, 12:06:27 PM »

I am interested to build my first robot. i had gone through the site tutorials and even some books...thanks for excellent info..anyway i am thinkin of building  similar to maze solving one (i don't know whether the micromouse can find paths when it faces canyons... though if not i have my own idea to overcome the problem) nd expecting my bot to overcome climbing slopes,canyons and detecting obstacles.
    as i am new to this field i cant decide specifications for my robot ... which microcontroller to use?and motors,servos etc(i cant get the calculations for finding the suitable motors)... i am thinkin to use C/C++ as u recommended
    can u suggest the best microcontroller....nd can i know the list of parts nd s/w's like simulators ..etc (i use a windows XP nd AMD processor) i require for it ....  at least recommend some stuff were can i refer for the info

Thanks in advance

Offline nathan25

• Helpful? 0
Re: newbie...building bot
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2007, 02:14:51 PM »
Try checking out Lynxmotion, the SSC-32 Servo Controller is a great controller... http://www.lynxmotion.com/Product.aspx?productID=395&CategoryID=52 ... thats the site. but theres a thing that it doesn't support sensors... which i'm researching into, so if u want sensors your gonna have to go with the ABB (atomic bot board) http://www.lynxmotion.com/Product.aspx?productID=252&CategoryID=66 ... thats the ABB and then you'll need the BASIC Atom 28 Pin, http://www.lynxmotion.com/Product.aspx?productID=269&CategoryID=66 ... thats it... but the problem is like we all kno is price... me and my buddy have narrowed it down that its one of the best priced, next to free samples from the manufactures themselves...
worth a try... lynxmotion.com

Nate
I design robots to take ovr the Universe

Offline crazydude1Topic starter