go away spammer

Author Topic: ~~Confused !!~~  (Read 2215 times)

Offline RiderTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
~~Confused !!~~
« on: September 28, 2009, 10:46:38 AM »
Hello everybody,
  I am a beginner in robotics trying to learn my way up. I have been experimenting and learning past one year and I still feel I havent progressed as much as I would have done. The major problem I am facing is with programming languages. I started writing codes in C, because I had some basic Idea about C language but what I figured out is that the C language I learned at school or from the books is somewhat pretty different from what we use in programming ucs. For most of the times almost half the code seems alien to me. I know the code that is needed for LFR, or parallel port control but I know only the certain code and that too that I learnt from tutorials. This certainly is not taking me anywhere. I figured out that I know only bits and pieces of existing code samples rather than the programming language (Atleat the basic level of it). I googled for the code to control stepper motors via parallel port that found most in VB.NET or in Java. Then I googled for image recognition tutorials and found out that they were either done in matlab or they used Java. Some also used VB. So I am pretty confused that what language must I study to be able to make bots on my own ( which means programming the uc with my own code just the same way I made small applications in C an year back at school). If I keep struggling with C and some point later I figure out u can't use C for image recognition system at all and that I must have put all that effort with java and not C ..

Is there a book that can be used to learn a programming language for robotics (C/ VB/ VB.NET/ JAVA) just the same way we used to learn C for making applications for computers.