Author Topic: UART Hardware related issue  (Read 1826 times)

Offline rmoreTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
UART Hardware related issue
« on: July 13, 2012, 09:46:52 PM »
Hello All,

I am planning to add UART feature to my robot in order to read the sensor output values. So I was reading thru Admin's post and decided on going for the:

TTL --> TTL to USB Adaptor --> PC approach.

And hence would buy the - SparkFun Breakout Board for CP2103 USB.

Being a rookie, I ask this question - I need a male/male USB cable to use this above breakout board isnt it?
This cable should supposedly connect the breakout board to the PC....

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Further, can I go ahead any buy this:

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/512

Thank you for your help.

Rmore

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: UART Hardware related issue
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 08:03:38 AM »
Being a rookie, I ask this question - I need a male/male USB cable to use this above breakout board isnt it?
This cable should supposedly connect the breakout board to the PC....
Correct.

Why not to go with something like this --> USB to TTL Serial Module with four PCB header wires

I own one myself and it works great.
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline rmoreTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 09:19:31 AM »
new In Robotics,

Thanks. So basically with the hardware that you are using and have suggested, I will anyways have to buy a male/male USB cable to connect this new hardware to the PC. Right?

Also, I believe the 4 wires that are seen in the pic are the ones going to the microcontroller (VCC,GND,RX and TX). What are the 6 pin-outs from the board for then?

Rmore

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2012, 06:26:02 AM »
Hi