Author Topic: Unable to decide motor spec for Quadruped  (Read 3337 times)

Offline saba_rish91Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Unable to decide motor spec for Quadruped
« on: January 12, 2013, 09:57:12 AM »
Hello,

I am planning to build a quadruped robot and I am not good with robot mechanics.

The body of the robot is going to contain Arduino UNO, servo controller and LiPO battery. I'm planning to make the robot's body with acrylic sheet and the leg joints using Aluminum metal. Each leg with 3 DOF.

I'm unable to decide the servo motor's torque required to make the robot walk on a smooth surface and on slightly uneven surface.

Which of the following servo motors can achieve this task?

http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_5&products_id=187
or
HiTec HS 311?

Thanks in advance.
Strike when the iron is hot!

Offline waltr

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 99
Re: Unable to decide motor spec for Quadruped
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2013, 01:43:57 PM »
How much does the Bot weigh?
How many servos will support the bot with the minimum number of legs on the ground?
What are the moment arm lengths connect to the servos? Remember how Torque is defined (T = Force times Arm length).

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 03:24:04 PM »
With 2DOF, you can actually use fairly weak servos. The reason is that the force goes straight into the mounts and axles of the servos, rather than actually in the motor radial direction. Once you add a third degree of freedom, that will have to lift some part of the robot, and the leg.

It's not so bad. Simplified math that works OK: If you assume that the other legs are already holding the main body, then the middle (knee) joint only needs to lift the weight of the leg outside the joint, times the horizontal distance between the servo spline (center of rotation) and the center of gravity of that leg.