Author Topic: robot operating system?  (Read 1651 times)

Offline mrcw2Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
robot operating system?
« on: June 24, 2011, 05:55:10 AM »
Hi I am a not very good programmer and I don't know much about Linux so I use Mocroft windows 7 as my OS.  It does have some advantages I have used a computer motherboard and 30 Gig hardrive, two servos and wheels and six servos for a robotic arm and two webcams.  Has anybody else done this?

mrcw2

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
Re: robot operating system?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2011, 07:58:46 AM »
You need to give more detail for us to have any idea what you're talking about.  Are you trying to ask something about ROS?
I

Offline mrcw2Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 11:16:21 AM »
no not ROS.  I use c# and a sppeaker and stereo microphones (attached to webcams) and I'm looking at Prolog, Neural Networks and SQL to look at an object, compare it with a database of shapes and move accordingly or speak.  The movents are conrolled by the Neural Network.  At the moment I don't use any other sensors.

Has anybody even tried to make a robot like this? and if someone has did it work? What problems might I encounter in the future?

Offline garrettg84

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 8
  • Armchair Roboticist Extraordinaire
    • http://www.garrettgalloway.com/
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 11:36:51 AM »
a 30 gig hdd? not a 300gb hdd?
-garrett

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer · Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 04:54:06 PM »
I think I have a rough idea of what you're attempted.  It's a fairly commonly approached problem, I think.  It's not one that I've been interested in tackling, so I don't know specific examples off-hand.