go away spammer

Author Topic: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II  (Read 13522 times)

Offline Popcorn97Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« on: March 02, 2010, 03:38:54 AM »
Hi everyone,
i just got a Axon II yesterday and found out the bootloader doesnt work on 64 bit windows 7 OS. im new to robotics (well i've used the Lego NXT for a few years but i dont think that really counts) and im not really sure what else i can use/do. I've tried both the GUI and cmd versions of the FBOOT17 with both the same problem.
i'd really appreciate some help,
Steph

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: Windows 7 64bit Bootloader for Axon II
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 06:20:54 AM »
Personally, I'd upgrade back to XP 32-bit version :P

Or at least to 32 bit Windows 7. . . there isn't any reason to have more than 32 bit unless you feel 4GB of RAM isn't enough for your PC . . . and quite a lot of software out there isn't 64-bit compatible . . .

That said, no bootloader user has found a 64-bit workaround to my knowledge (someone please chime in if you have).

Two other solutions: use a virtual machine with 32-bit, or use a hardware programmer.

The cheapest full-featured programmer I know of:
http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1300
(I haven't used it myself, but other SoR members recommended it)

Offline HDA

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 07:54:47 AM »
I 'am nearly the same problem with XP, because it's seems that the AXOONII bootloader is a 16 bits version ! (an old 16 bits library seems to be used in this code)
The error message in the specific windows proposes "OK" or "Cancel", if you click on "Cancel"
the bootloader is OK !

Offline dunk

• Expert Roboticist
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 21
    • dunk's robot
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2010, 12:40:10 PM »
hey Admin,
do you have the source code for the windows bootloader program?