Author Topic: Help to find ideas to program a shortcuts for a $50 robot  (Read 2183 times)

Offline JackalsTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Help to find ideas to program a shortcuts for a $50 robot
« on: January 02, 2014, 06:43:06 AM »
So here I go  :), I'm not an accurate english master, more a practitioner, feel alright to tell me if you don't understand a part, It will be my pleasure to explain in other terms.

A little bit about me:  i'm studying in a cursus ( college/ university) of electrical engineering and industrial computer.

This year a large number of hours have been dedicated to a project. This project is really similar to the " $50 ROBOT " the main idea is that with 50 €, the chasis ,motivation, a bit of guidance we have to make a robot which can follow white lines.

Nowadays the project grow up, the mechanic is ok, the electronic part too : one circuit to detect coumpound with leds and photoresistor Bpw77, an other one to regulate the two motors, a third part with battery.

Interconnexion and a microcontroler have been added for the last part of the project : the race bettween groups and then robots.
All the differences , and so chances of victory, will be in the way of programming the microcontroller ;)   

If you can see this  ::) , THERE is my Question for you, i can bring up any begin of idea, I can't figured out how to turn on " raccourcie " = shortcuts, one clue there , just before the shortcut there a 90° angle that have been placed to help the robot to understand the shortcut.

Even before an integration in C++ code i try to understand how the robot can work to achieve a race more efficently by taking shortcuts.

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: Help to find ideas to program a shortcuts for a $50 robot
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2014, 11:05:23 AM »
The robot needs to be able to detect line crossings in addition to just where the straight-away line is.