Author Topic: Jazzy select motors and motor controller interfaced for RC  (Read 5216 times)

Offline headrcTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
Jazzy select motors and motor controller interfaced for RC
« on: July 25, 2013, 09:09:22 PM »
Hi everyone ....a Newbie here.  I recently acquired a Jazzy select electric wheelchair that I want to use the motors, batteries and possibly other electronics for a RC controlled lawn mower (and other tasks).  I have not been able to find an answer to this question.  Why would I have to buy something like a Sabretooth motor controller when there obviously is one in the Jazzy.  Could that motor controller not be interfaced with an RC set and be controlled by it?  I know I may be missing something here ....but if it can be done ...it saves another $140 or more to do what I want to do.  Great forum here ....and I know I will learn a lot !

Offline jlp

• Helpful? 0
Re: Jazzy select motors and motor controller interfaced for RC
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2013, 08:42:17 AM »
I also acquired two motors, wheels (12"), a controller, and joystick that I have just started to build a robot with.

The motors are 24v @ 3amps, 100rpm. Took the controller apart and it uses 8 N-channel MOS fet's. (2sk1426)

I am doing the same thing that you are going to do. This is where I am at now. Built a frame using angle iron just bolted together. Everything works the way it should, of course everything is controlled for safety reasons.

Testing in the house wasn't a good plan, got hole in wall that I have to fix now.

Went to radio shack and bought a RC car for the plastics of the controller. (30$) Took the controller apart and there is lots of room for modification. Gave the car (red porche) to the neighbour's kid.

This is my plan to make it wireless, after I take some measurements for this motor controller.
I will be using 433mhz transmitter and receiver along with the pt series encoder and decoder. A few bucks.