go away spammer

Author Topic: Toy Car Interface to Arduino  (Read 1769 times)

Offline yashmitTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Toy Car Interface to Arduino
« on: December 03, 2011, 10:24:00 PM »
All,

I'm a newbie for robotics and so my apologies if I'm asking a trivial question. I did try googling to find out the answer without any luck.

Using valuable information from "Robot Builders Bonanza" I hacked a remote controlled car and found out four resistors that control forward and backward motions of my two rear wheels. I've soldered four wires to these four resistors so that I can control these from microcontroller. Car has 3 AA batteries and I want to use separate power source for my Arduino board. I'm thinking of using 9V battery for the board.

My questions -
1. Since I'm using existing motor control circuit from my car I don't need any resistor to attach to the microcontroller pin. I can directly attach soldered wires to MC pins. Is this correct?

2. Do I need to connect VSS from my microcontroller to the -ve of my car power source? If not, what/how exactly do I need to connect power source from car and controller board?

Any help is highly appreciated as I'm currently stuck and at a dead-end!

Regards
-Vaibhav

Offline Redcap

• Helpful? 11
Re: Toy Car Interface to Arduino
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 11:15:57 PM »
Hi Vaibhav,

What kind of motors are they? As this will change the answers.
If you're not sure what type they are, post a pic and I or someone else will be able to help you further :)

From what you've said about the 4 resistors, it sounds like they're DC motors.
In this case, I don't have enough knowledge working with them in combination with an Arduino to supply answers to Q1 or Q2, sorry :(

But yea, reply with the type of motors/picture of motors and someone here may be able to help you more ;)

Offline Redcap

• Helpful? 11
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2011, 11:23:59 PM »
I will add, however, that if they are DC motors...