Author Topic: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo  (Read 2460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
[Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« on: January 01, 2010, 06:42:47 PM »
It's a HSR-1425CR servo... although its not a normal Servo, is it still possible to fix its rotation to any known position?

For example: Centering the CR servo, when I use servo(PORTA,1,700); in a for loop, it still rotates :/

If its not possible to control the positions of H-CR, is it possible to somehow transform the servo into a 180ยบ servo?

Thanks..
« Last Edit: January 01, 2010, 07:09:35 PM by Hasan999 »

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 07:19:33 PM »
Have you tried changing the values a bit?
It might be that the servos center value is different from the one you have in your code resulting in the servo
still rotating... How fast does the servo still rotate with that code? Full speed? Half speed?
Howdy

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 06:58:57 PM »
thanks SmAsh ... using Trial n Error, I could get my servo to "STOP"

BUT

I can only control its rotation SPEED... not its position !!

i.e. if servo(PORTA,1,685) doesn't let the (continuous rotation) servo move, then if I try 690, it will continuously move (slower speed) in one direction.

Is it possible to control "positions" of a Continuous Rotation Servo ?
Thanks

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2010, 07:07:26 PM »
Well, yes and no... You would have to know how far it travels in a set amount of time and let it run for a certain amount of time to turn it a certain amount.
Howdy

Offline Hasan999Topic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • Helpful? 1
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2010, 07:10:30 PM »
but since I need to set it in 1 fixed position, once I switch the microcontroller ON ...i guess its not possible then :(

anyway, thanks !

I'll probably buy 4 Standard servos for replacement..

Offline SmAsH

  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,959
  • Helpful? 75
  • SoR's Locale Electronics Nut.
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2010, 10:09:47 PM »
Yeah, that's probably easier :-\
Howdy

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • *****
  • Posts: 11,703
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
Re: [Axon] Programming a Continuous Rotation Servo
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2010, 01:03:58 AM »
You can always add an encoder to your servo for position *and* speed control.

 


Get Your Ad Here

data_list