go away spammer

Author Topic: Best (and relatively cheap) method of controlling a robotic arm wirelessly  (Read 3414 times)

Offline aadityaTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hi, I am currently in my final year pursuing  mech engg. and wish to create a robotic arm with a claw or similar thing which can be controlled using my fingers (kind of like minority report, where tom cruise manipulates the display). It can be wired or wireless.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Happy tinkering then!

Did you have any questions?
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline aadityaTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
yes. what sort of sensor,circuit etc should i use? ???

Offline Alfa_Zulu

• Helpful? 1
umm dont quote me on this, but i believe you can use servos on the gloves, real small ones and with the signal wire you can calculate the angle the horn is atm
from resistance or something.

i have seen a bipod kit that you could pose it's limbs connected to servo's and it recorded the angles, then you could animate the movements... so this might be the way to go...
« Last Edit: July 05, 2010, 06:45:17 AM by Alfa_Zulu »

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
Hi,

yes. what sort of sensor,circuit etc should i use? ???
Isn't that what you have to work out?

Google "Flexistor" and "Power Glove" for starters.
Regards,
Søren

A rather fast and fairly heavy robot with quite large wheels needs what? A lot of power?
Please remember...
Engineering is based on numbers - not adjectives

Offline Alfa_Zulu

• Helpful? 1
i came up with this idea while driving home this afternoon, it may be kinda stupid but for something simple i can't see why it wouldn't be any good except for being a little bulky.