Author Topic: General Help  (Read 4398 times)

Offline SciOlyStudentTopic starter

• Helpful? 0
General Help
« on: November 08, 2007, 05:33:59 PM »
Hi, I'm new to this website and the concept of building robots.  I'm looking to participate in a competition where I have to build a robot that can move objects (batteries, index cards and tennis balls for a few) into a box.  I have read some of the tutorials, but I have to say I was a little overwhelmed with all of the the information and I have NO IDEA  ??? about some of the stuff they talk about... Just to start, how would I go about making a RC robot that has differential drive?  What parts and building are required?  Thanks for any help in advance!

Offline nottoooily

• Helpful? 3
Re: General Help
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 07:57:39 PM »
Buy an up-market RC car with a diff, sellotape some plywood over it, and you're finished.

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 09:32:07 PM »
Thanks, but even though I am a beginner, I'd like to make something myself.  I am going for simplicity, but that doesn't mean that I do not want to be challenged.  Thanks again anyway. :)

Offline nottoooily

• Helpful? 3
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2007, 12:57:48 AM »
How much do you know about electronics?

The mechanical parts are usually just common sense, what in particular is confusing you?

For example, you could buy two gearmotors, bolt them to a chasis, fit wheels to them, solder up motor drivers to switch the motors, solder up a microcontroller to control them, make a regulator to power the chips, stick some batteries in, program the uc and drive away.

What part(s) of that are confusing you? Or is it the overall design that you're not sure of?

A lot of the design decisions can come down to what tools you have and what parts you can get cheaply enough.

Offline Admin

• Administrator
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 173
    • Society of Robots
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2007, 08:28:57 AM »