Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Software => Software => Topic started by: Gertlex on December 07, 2013, 12:29:30 PM

Title: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Gertlex on December 07, 2013, 12:29:30 PM
Webbot,

A few bits to this problem:

I am trying to set up my Axon Mote with a DS1307 RTC.

I tried using the latest Webbotlib Studio; After adding an I2C Master, selecting the DS1307 from the devices dropdown doesn't do anything.  Some of the devices in the list work, but some others also don't (a partial sampling, I found that the TPA81 and Devantech CMPS03 (I2C) Compass both fail).

(Also, even fewer devices are valid selections if I try using my custom Attiny85 .brd file)

I went back to Project Designer; I can add the RTC to the I2C Master, but am unable to choose anything for or bypass the Supply Vcc.  I suspect this may be the issue that Webbotlib Studio is hiding from the user?  This seems very similar to an issue I had a couple years ago that you fixed: http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=14465.0 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=14465.0)

Both programs work fine if I use a regular Axon, so I'll use that in the mean time.

Thanks!
Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Webbot on December 08, 2013, 01:44:19 PM
I think what is going on is:
DS1307 requires Vcc from 4.5 to 5.5
Your Mote is running at 3.3.
So there are ain't a suitable supply to run the RTC.

Hence you will need to create a new regulated supply. But this generates the real problem. Since the Mote allows a supply between 3.4 and 8v then it won't let you add a regulated supply coming from the battery that gives say 5v (as the user may plugin a 3.4v battery). Guess I need to still make this check in board designer but for a given project where the user declares the actual battery voltage then to allow it if the battery is >= 5.

Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Webbot on December 08, 2013, 02:43:08 PM
On second thoughts...I wont make that fix. But here is the workaround.
You must be supplying a regulated 5 supply for the DS from somewhere - it cant come from the Mote.

Add a new unregulated supply of say 6v called, say, "My battery"
Then create a new regulated supply (between 4.5 and 5.5v) called say "My 5v" which is provided from "My battery"

You can now add the DS.

Obviously - the above is not just a hack - but should reflect how you are actually supplying Vcc to the DS.

What I will look at is making the tools generate a message like "There is no suitable regulated supply 4.5 to 5.5v for the DS......" rather than just silently ignoring you,.
Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Gertlex on December 08, 2013, 09:53:37 PM
Work-around... worked. Thanks :)

(Note for future readers, such as myself: workaround applies only to WebbotLib Studio)
Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Gertlex on January 11, 2014, 11:03:32 PM
Hi Webbot; I got a ~3100 pixel wide warning message regarding power supplies when adding an IR range sensor to an attiny85 project just now. Looks like the warning is being repeated 3 times.  I suspect it's related to your fix made a while ago.

I got around this with no issue using the method you describe a few posts up.

Thanks!

Edit: Whoops, I should note that the error occurred when I was in WebbotStudio's board designer (meant to be in the project designer portion)
Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Webbot on January 15, 2014, 08:08:05 PM
Have PM'd you about this as I'm confused as to whether you are using Studio or the old designers.
Your original post was for the Mote - but newer posts seem to be ATtiny85
Perhaps a project file, or board file, as I'm not sure what you are editing - would be good.
Help me out here !
Title: Re: Webbotlib: Issue with no 5V supply option for various devices
Post by: Gertlex on January 15, 2014, 10:26:35 PM
Whoops. I neglected to thoroughly skim the thread before adding it. I think that is because prior to the issue with the Axon Mote, I also had issues with my ATTiny85 board of a similar sort, but didn't describe that portion at the time for simplicity.

Yup, I am working solely in WebbotLib Studio.

Alas, argh. I am unable to reproduce the triple-error message. I get a single message instead.  You can reproduce this by editing the attached board (or creating a project with it) and adding a Sharp GP2 IR Range Finder.  But that error message makes sense, so is not an issue...