Author Topic: Connecting everything together?  (Read 2133 times)

Offline BotBoy22Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Connecting everything together?
« on: August 09, 2011, 08:44:19 AM »
Hi, I am new to robotics and I'm starting of just by building a simple 2-wheeled robot. all i know is what the parts do, its just a matter of connecting everything up and getting to work together. I cant seem to find anywhere that helps me with this, so i was hoping people with experience would be my best chance. Anyway, I'm also stuck on actually making the wheels spin, may sound stupid but i have no idea on how to connect motors to the wheels and motors to the main board etc. to actually make them move.

Thanks.  :)

Offline joe61

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 16
Re: Connecting everything together?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 08:47:16 AM »
Sounds like you want to take a look at http://www.societyofrobots.com/ Look at the section "Beginners, not sure where to start?"

If you have more specific questions I'm sure you can find help here, but what you need help with is a little vague yet.

Joe

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 09:01:10 AM »
Sounds like you want to take a look at http://www.societyofrobots.com/ Look at the section "Beginners, not sure where to start?"

If you have more specific questions I'm sure you can find help here, but what you need help with is a little vague yet.

Joe

When buying a motor, does it come with a shaft or do you have to buy that separately?

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer ยท Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2011, 01:55:52 PM »
When buying a motor, does it come with a shaft or do you have to buy that separately?
Motors come with the shaft, since that's part of the motor (aka it's what's being turned within the motor.  What you attach to the shaft and how is usually real issue... What motors and for what applications are you looking at?
I

• Beginner