Author Topic: An robot arm as schoolproject, is that a good idea?  (Read 5388 times)

Offline Fredrik AnderssonTopic starter

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 0
An robot arm as schoolproject, is that a good idea?
« on: August 21, 2007, 12:34:38 AM »
Hello everyone!

I'm pretty new to robotics, the only robot i've done is an 50$-robot sort of robot. I have the expirience of two months of reading (could have created some more of a robot, just that i am waiting for parts that are never coming :-\ ). Im a former game programmer (if you like to entitle yourself with your main intrest that is) so i am atleast fit at the programming part.

Ok, here's what i want to do. I want to build a robot as school project, an really advanced one. I got an really cool idea that may actually be of intrest for robotics laboratories. Of course it's only idea now, so i will need to have a prototype to show some intrest, right? Now it may have been created already or is kind of an bad idea,but that is why im asking. Im still concerned of trying though.

Right, the idea... the concept is to create an mobile robot arm, that could act like an third arm or replacement for one. By this im not meaning some kind of an prosthetic, connected to the nerves and stuff like that. Im meaning more like an autonomous robot that responds on voice commands. The arm coould be commanded to do all kinds of things like picking up an object and drop it somewhere else, picking up a cup of coffey, and pouring it into the owners mouth (yikes! if the coffey is hot, the arm should have temperature sensors and refuse to pour if it's over an maximum temperature or something like that :P ) turning pages on a book... the list goes on.

Now im not aiming for the robot to be practical, not my version. Im aiming for it to be cool and make an great appearance so that it can maybe show some intrest at some company or laboratory. The only practical? thing i want it to be able to do, is to be able to pour coffey in my mouth! :P