go away spammer

Author Topic: I need some help with micro controllers  (Read 2422 times)

Offline Silver_79Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
I need some help with micro controllers
« on: July 09, 2009, 11:14:40 AM »
      Hi, I am new to the robotics scene, I am a EET (Electrical Engineering Tech) student at YSU (Youngstown State University) in Youngstown OH. I am building my first robot and have it mostly sketched out on Autodesk's sketch pad program which I plan on moving to AutoCAD when I get the bugs I can see worked out. It is a design which is inspired by the $50 robot in the beginners section of this site. My question is I have taken a first class on the Intel 8085 Microprocessor which I will be taking more classes on in the future for my BSS. I was wondering if I should use an 8085 based Micro-controller for this first robot, or should I use something like the Axon which is more powerful? I plan on building more robots in the future so I may want the more powerful controller but, I am familiar with the 8085 what do you all think.   
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

-Robert Lee Frost-

Offline GearMotion

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Two decades+ of Embedded Design
    • CircuitGizmos
Re: I need some help with micro controllers
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 11:49:13 AM »