go away spammer

Author Topic: Power management  (Read 1390 times)

Offline koen.paesTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Power management
« on: February 28, 2013, 02:08:21 AM »
Hello everybody,

I am currently working on a thesis project, investigating an IRB1600 robot (ABB). I am new in the field of robotics and I was wondering about the way power is managed in the robot-controller.

When one of the motors is generating electric power (because the joint is moving with gravity for instance), is this power then redirected to the other motors or does it get lost? And in case all the motors together produce more power than they consume, is power sent back to the net or dissipated somehow?

Any hints or references to relevant literature are  very welcome...

thanks,
Koen

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Power management
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2013, 03:34:46 AM »
When one of the motors is generating electric power (because the joint is moving with gravity for instance), is this power then redirected to the other motors or does it get lost?
As far as I know, robot motors (servos in this case) do not get powered off until robot is in its 'parked' position, hence none of the motors work as a generator. Reason being is that gravity cannot be trusted as it is an external force and cannot be controlled. So even if robot is lowering something towards the ground, servos are actively working against gravity to keep required velocity of the end-effector and to follow path correctly.

And in case all the motors together produce more power than they consume, is power sent back to the net or dissipated somehow?
Motor can never produce more power than it consumes in the same amount of time or travel distance. So, to raise end-effector to 125cm height will take more power than can be generated by letting robot go 'floppy' and motors being spun by gravity until end-effector touches the ground.