Author Topic: Construction Robot  (Read 2217 times)

Offline MrBojanglesTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Construction Robot
« on: May 08, 2012, 08:23:27 PM »
I need help with the design, I am a 6th hour robotics newbie.  Tracks to move the base (optional drop down wheels for 360 turning and perpendicular positioning) on top of the base is a scissor lift extending to 10 ft or a bit more, on the lift is an arm going up that can pivot 360 and up or down, to another arm with a 90 degree joint, at the end is the attachment which is a drill on two rails with two metal plates to squeeze together having a hole between them. the attachment is constructed to allow the drill to drill between the holes and the attachment can be flipped 90 degrees.

Offline tomcharley

• Helpful? 0
Re: Construction Robot
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 01:04:41 PM »
Dear Mr. Bojangles,

I'm not quite sure what you need help on.  Your post is a bit confusing.  You said that you need help with the design, but then you went on to detail the design that you already had.  We need to know your problem statement if we're going to improve the performance of the robot.  What is the robot supposed to do?  I can tell it needs to drill holes at different heights, but other than that I can't tell what specs you're working with.  I'll try to help out based on the information that you gave, but it will only be general advise.

If the scissor lift is going to extend for 10ft, you'll need a heavy/wide base to prevent it from tipping over.  The joints in the scissor lift section will need to have tight tolerances so that the whole thing doesn't sway.