go away spammer

Author Topic: Roboduino/arduino  (Read 8660 times)

Offline Adityav95Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Roboduino/arduino
« on: May 04, 2010, 05:30:33 AM »
Hey guys/girls, I'm looking to build a robot and have read the $50 robot tutorial and it will be my first robot build. I'm also going a build a robot with the roboduino or arduino micro-controller.

1. Firstly i learnt that the Arduino Duemilanove (link: http://store.curiousinventor.com/arduino/arduino-duemilanove.html) is  based on a ATMega 328 while the roboduino is based on the ATMega 168. Since the roboduino is more expensive than arduino, ($30 vs $35) and has the faster ATMega 328 is it not better to go for the Arduino?? ???

2. Is it easier to use roboduino or arduino?? ??? since I'm a beginner i would like things to be as easy as it can be. ;D

3. this robot I'm building with the arduino/roboduino is planned to be fitted with the paralax ultra sonic range finder as in the $50 robot sonar upgrade tutorial, so which is the better(and more importantly easier ) controller to use with it?  ???

4. if i buy the arduino Duemilanove, do i to solder some parts like the roboduino kit or is it preassembled? ???

Offline madsci1016

• Contest Winner
  • Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 43
    • Personal Website
Re: Roboduino/arduino
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 09:07:52 AM »
Both boards are the same speed. The 328 just has more memory for more complicated programs.

The robodruino has a built in motor controller, so if you were gonna use dc motors, id pick that.

Offline Razor Concepts

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 53
    • RazorConcepts
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2010, 10:51:13 AM »
Roboduino does not have a motor controller, the Romeo Arduino does

The Duemilanove is always preassembled.

The Roboduino would be easier for things that you want to achieve.

You can always replace the mega168 with the 328, the 328 costs like four dollars.