Author Topic: Motorcycle Balancer  (Read 3511 times)

Offline [email protected]Topic starter

• Helpful? 0
Motorcycle Balancer
« on: February 17, 2012, 07:44:24 PM »
Hi, I am a Mechanical Engineer with plenty of experience, but I have no robotic/controls experience.

I would like to build a device to balance my motorcycle when I stop at a stop light so that I don't have to put my feet down.  I would like it to be as small and light as possible.  I would like it to be able to attach to the storage/gear rack at the back of the motorcycle.

I know how to do everything except build the balancing part and what components are required to balance the motorcycle.

The motorcycle, with me on it weighs about 700lbs.

I would like to control the handle bars at the stop light and the idea is that I would pull up to the light and as I stop the balancer will take over and I will hold the handle bars still.

I do not know how to write any software, and I do not know how to choose any electronic components.  I believe it will need to run off of 9V power supply on the bike.

Can anybody help me with this project?

Offline Resilient

• Helpful? 4
Re: Motorcycle Balancer
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 09:33:37 PM »
Add a side car?

Seriously though, what are you talking about here? Do you want to automatically deploy a kickstand? Do you want to use some sort of gyroscope juju?

One does not simply.... balance a motorcycle.

Offline Gertlex

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 24
  • Nuclear Engineer ยท Roboticist
    • Index of Oddities
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2012, 12:06:37 AM »
Training wheels!

But ya, what Resilient said.
I

• Helpful? 0
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 10:31:10 PM »
Thanks for responding - I would like to be able to do something like experiment 1 of this youtube link.
Motor Bike Robot