Author Topic: Following A Light  (Read 4689 times)

Offline MegaLaDonTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Following A Light
« on: July 29, 2012, 07:29:41 PM »
I am new to robotics and am looking for some advice. What I want to do is make my robot follow a light source (like a flashlight). How would I go about doing this?

Offline newInRobotics

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 48
  • N.I.R.
Re: Following A Light
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2012, 03:08:28 AM »
You probably want to read and complete (actually build) the famous $50 Robot tutorial :)
"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian W

Offline greywanderer012345

• Robot Overlord
  • Helpful? 2
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2012, 04:20:38 PM »
When I made the $50 robot, I put the light sensors underneath the chassis so that it doesnt chase lights in the room. Instead, it chases light on the ground, like a flashlight. It works, but not great in a lit room. I think some photoresistors act differently for certain frequencies of light. Im thinking about looking into this to make a bot that follows a red laser specifically. Hope this helps.

Offline Soeren

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 227
  • Mind Reading: 0.0
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2012, 11:06:26 PM »
Hi,

I think some photoresistors act differently for certain frequencies of light. Im thinking about looking into this to make a bot that follows a red laser specifically. Hope this helps.
Photoresistors (CdS) all have a fairly wide spectre and you won't get that much difference by changing them. If you add a color filter over any photoresistor, you can dampen its sensitivity to other colors, well enough to get it to differentiate eg. a red and a green LASER, but white light contains both red and green, so a filter letting eg. red through will also let the red part of white light through.