Author Topic: Axon's microcontroler Society of Robots: OS and compilation?  (Read 2692 times)

Offline denis.beuriveTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Hello!

I develop under Linux (using C or C++) since more than 15 years. But I am a beginner in microcontrolers. I always used standard Linux distribution (Debian, RedHat,...), on "full featured" computer.

I discovered the "Axon's microcontroler Society of Robots" (http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/). I read the documentation, but I am not sure to understand everything. I still have questions.

Questions 1:

What kind of operating system is running on this hardware?

The FAQ says :

Can I use Mac or Linux?
The bootloader is not directly Linux/Mac compatible. To learn more about programming with a Mac, check out this forum post and this one too. You could use a Windows emulator like wine or dosbox. You could also use an external hardware programmer for programming - please see the FAQ on how to upload code with a programmer. Finally, a new FBOOT version for OS X and Linux.

I understand that it is possible to run Linux, but Linux is not the default operating system. Is it correct? If so, then, what is the default operating system?

Is it possible to run Embedded Debian? (http://www.emdebian.org/)

Questions 2:

I am very interested in a specific device : http://www.xsens.com/en/general/mti-g

This device comes with a C++ code that can be compiled under Linux (http://www.xsens.com/en/faq/items/2-industrial-applications/38-are-the-mtimtx-and-mti-g-compatible-with-linux).

Note : I will contact XSENS to know if the C++ code they provide compiles under *embedded* Linux.

OK. But still wonder: Is it a good idea to think that I could use this kind of microcontroler for this kind of device? (I have no idea about what I can do with this tiny mother boards).

Thank you very much! And apologize for my English (which may not be perfect).

Denis

Offline chelmi

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
    • Current projects