go away spammer

Author Topic: need help with a system that measures the movements and reproduces them  (Read 1743 times)

Offline hdj1011Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
Greetings,
I am doing a project that requires me to measure the movement of my hand and reproduce the actions accordingly. However, I have little knowledge in this field and I would like to find out more about the knowledge I need to know and devices I will need to get for this idea. I will explain my need in the following part:
I need to hold a device(call it a controller) that measures my hand movement, for simplicity, the movement is only in 2D translation. On the other side, the controlled object (call it a robot) will need to move in the same manner. One analogy will be just like a RC  car: when I use the joystick to control the direction, the car will move accordingly. The difference is that, my project needs not to be wireless-controlled, and a grip is used instead of a joystick to be more intuitive.
To expect more in the future, I would want my robot moves the same distance as my hand. At this stage, I would like to focus on the most basic knowledge I need to know and devices I need to get to do the tranlational copycat movement.

Hope my description is clear to you guys, thanks so much in advance for any help!

Offline jwatte

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 82
Re: need help with a system that measures the movements and reproduces them
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 06:39:55 PM »
If you search around, there are a few projects like that, using one of:
- the Wii Nunchuck controller
- the Microsoft Kinect
- the PS/3 Move controller
I don't recall the specific names of the projects or makers off-hand, but sites like instructables or hackaday or such ought to document some of them.

Offline hdj1011Topic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 06:23:53 AM »
Thanks a lot for your help. I will look into these projects.

Offline sgang007

• Beginner