Author Topic: robot motor question.  (Read 2203 times)

Offline pariskTopic starter

• Beginner
  • Helpful? 0
robot motor question.
« on: January 10, 2015, 08:10:08 PM »
Hi everyone, I am a mechanical engineer student and me and my team have been assigned to make a UGV that is able to deliver at least 5 kg of water at a 60 m distance and return.
My problem comes in the motor selection. We decided to run with 4 motors (one on each wheel).
I used the on-line calculator provided but the results I get are a bit strange. My specs are:
Mass   (max value) 20 kg   
Desired Velocity      0.5 m/s (must not be over: 8 km/h)
Desired Acceleration      0.1 m/s
Expected Efficiency      70%
Incline Angle      2 (max value) degrees
Wheel Diameter      0.176 meters
# of Powered Wheels   4   wheels

I would be really great full if someone could provide some recommendation on a motor. We currently picked: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-DC-100RPM-High-Torque-Gear-Box-Electric-Motor-/330758036336?pt=UK_BOI_Industrial_Automation_Control_ET&hash=item4d02b71b70
this one but according to the calculator its not strong enough. Thank you all in advanced.

Offline mklrobo

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 15
  • From Dream to Design at the speed of Imagination!
Re: robot motor question.
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 11:40:52 AM »
Hello! I can offer my opinion.
I would look at the terrain that the robot has to go. (load conditions)
Hydraulic motors can produce power to the wheel, but too heavy.(smaller, maybe?)
This sound similar to a chemical engineering question, with the power/ load demand.
You could take a motor, then run it in place on a jig & fixture, to determine the total
power demand per m. Or, run the whole model on a jig and fixture to get an idea
of the power consumption.(with load). You could use the Jig & fixture to give a laboratory
guesstimation of what would be needed, as a model. You could then, "tweek" out any