Society of Robots - Robot Forum

Electronics => Electronics => Topic started by: Nate_the_Great on May 09, 2007, 03:42:54 PM

Title: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Nate_the_Great on May 09, 2007, 03:42:54 PM
Alright, Im hoping someone can help me out with this one:

For the $50 robot, instead of using the AVR STK Serial Port Dongle Programmer, I purchased the more expensive AVR ISP2 Programmer. Now, when I get to the part where I have to set up the programmer header the diagram shown has 10 pins (2 rows of 5), yet when I look at the ISP2 Programmer there is only room for 6 pins (2 rows of 3). I don't know which connections to make now  :P

Hoping someone out there could help me out........
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: ed1380 on May 09, 2007, 03:51:10 PM
use datasheets for the names of the pins and what pin should be connected to what
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on May 10, 2007, 02:43:19 PM
The more expensive programmer should come with two cables, one for 6 pin and one for 10 pin. You will have to open up the programmer and install the 10 pin cable. The instruction booklet for the programmer has pics/instructions on how to do this.

I probably should have mentioned that in the tutorial . . . Ill add it on within the next few days . . .

You also have the other option of doing some minor rewiring on the $50 robot circuit. This might give you more room on your board for future stuff . . .
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: pelibot on May 10, 2007, 11:39:00 PM

Here is a table I'm keeping for few years now. It is from the days of original AVRISP but I strongly believe nothing has changes with regards to the target connector pin assignment.

Signal : 6-Pin : 10-Pin        : I/O : Description
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VCC    : 2     : 2               :  -  : Power is delivered from the target board
GND    : 6     : 3,4,6, 8,10 :  -  : Ground
MOSI   : 4     : 1               : O : Commands and data from AVRISP to target AVR
MISO   : 1     : 9               : I  : Data from target AVR to AVRISP
SCK     : 3     : 7               : O : Serial Clock, Controlled by AVRISP
RESET  : 5     : 5              : O : Reset. Controlled by AVRISP


Also, If I recall, I once opened the AVRISP case to reset it's firmware and seen two connector headers. one for 6-pin and one for 10-pin.
I use the 6-pin setup for years with mega128,mega8 and mega1281 succefully.

Hope this helps.

Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Nate_the_Great on May 11, 2007, 08:12:16 AM
OK sounds good, you guys are great!

Thanks alot!  :)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on May 30, 2007, 08:34:03 PM
Signal : 6-Pin : 10-Pin        : I/O : Description
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VCC    : 2     : 2               :  -  : Power is delivered from the target board
GND    : 6     : 3,4,6, 8,10 :  -  : Ground
MOSI   : 4     : 1               : O : Commands and data from AVRISP to target AVR
MISO   : 1     : 9               : I  : Data from target AVR to AVRISP
SCK     : 3     : 7               : O : Serial Clock, Controlled by AVRISP
RESET  : 5     : 5              : O : Reset. Controlled by AVRISP

Cable Pin to IC Pin
1 to 18
2 to 7
3 to 19
4 to 17
5 to 1
6 to 8

looked up the datasheet for the atmega8 and matched the pin number with the Signal from this little table...
---
and then having just remembered theres a diagram just like the one I looked up right in the tutorial >_<
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on May 30, 2007, 08:43:43 PM
question... how do I know which pin is which on the 3x2 cable? I know thats a pretty noobish question but since theres the 3x2 instead of like 1x6 I cant just follow the line of the ribbon... is the pin on the side of the arrow number 1 and the one adjacent to it number 2? and then the one next to 1 is 3? and adjacent to 3 is 4? and next to 3 is 5?

||||||
cable
||||||
2 4 6
1 3 5
*

*= arrow

?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on May 30, 2007, 08:45:36 PM
(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6way_atmel_230.jpg)

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6w_idc_header.jpg)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on May 30, 2007, 08:55:37 PM
Thank you admin =)

pin 1 is closest to the ribbon, got it =)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on May 31, 2007, 06:46:36 PM
Question, lets say I just wanted to make a circuit for the sole purpose of programming the AT mega 8.

I would only need to hook up the 3 pin header for the battery, a 3x2 header for the 3x2 cable, the 5v regulator, and the 28 pin DIP socket right?

which pin does the regulated 5v go to on the At Mega8 go to? VCC?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on May 31, 2007, 09:34:20 PM
yeap

but you may start to find it annoying to have to swap your ATmega8 back and forth after each time you program it . . .
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on May 31, 2007, 09:37:03 PM
well im making the programming part on the same little board (I got a 756 hole board) so its really not that big a hassle :)

that way i can isolate if the problem is at the AVR or in the circuit elsewhere
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on June 04, 2007, 08:50:33 PM
Admin, can you please add to the color coded circuit diagram the connections for a 3x2 programming header? That would be a big help :)

Im gunna add/compile what I can in one post just for giggles...

Cable Pin to IC Pin
1 to 18
2 to 7
3 to 19
4 to 17
5 to 1
6 to 8

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6way_atmel_230.jpg)

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6w_idc_header.jpg)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: ribs on June 16, 2007, 11:35:32 PM
(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6way_atmel_230.jpg)

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6w_idc_header.jpg)

A few questions:

1) The pin layout diagram (what's the term for that?) really helps, of course; for future reference, is there a common place to find diagrams for stuff like this?  It wasn't included in the box that my AVR programmer came in, and I searched pretty fruitlessly on the digikey site and the atmel site (I couldn't even find the ATAVRISP2 on atmel's site at all.  I just happened across this thread, which was serendipitous ;)

2) Is it normal (or am I extra dumb) for the cable to come out of the opposite side of the plug compared to the diagram?  i.e. in the bottom left image, the ribbon cable comes out of the left of the plug.  When I orient my plug such that the holes are facing me, the red stripe is on the bottom, and the little key notch thing is on the left (just like in the diagram), the ribbon cable goes out to the right instead of the left.  Is that OK/normal?

3) Are the little pin diagrams usually drawn from the perspective of the male side on the board or the female side from the cable plug?


Thanks,

--
Ken
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: rgcustodio on June 17, 2007, 08:57:49 AM
1) Everything you need to know _IS_ in the Atmel website. Or in the CD included with the ISP. Go to: http://www.atmel.com/products/ select Microcontrollers and DSP, select AVR 8-bit RISC, select Tools & Software, select In-System Programming. Now did you find it? Everything _IS_ there.

2) You are probably looking at the other end of the ISP cable. Open up your ISP (at your own risk) to see the other end which should match the image below. Don't bother yourself too much about these details, you'll only loose sleep.

3) Most are drawn with respect to the pint layout on the board, either male or female. You must be careful that you align pin 1, the part of the ribbon cable with the red print, of the cable to the pin 1 of the connector on the board to minimize prolonged head scratching. The pin 1 on most boards are marked by a small one or a small arrow head. That's supposed to be poke-yoke.

Good luck.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: ribs on June 17, 2007, 02:57:53 PM
1) Ah, you're right.  I'm really new to this stuff, so I'm not at all sure which menu items to choose sometimes (and by "sometimes" I mean "all the time".  I had tried a bunch of menus and then started just searching for "ATAVRISP2" and "AVRISP2" etc. and didn't find it (because apparently internally it's called "AVRISP MkII")

2) Yep, that makes sense.  I'll just not worry about it and count from whereever the arrow is on my plug.

Thanks!

--
Ken
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: newbie on July 26, 2007, 08:18:46 PM
i am trying to program the board below: http://www.societyofrobots.com/images/sbs_board_final.JPG (http://www.societyofrobots.com/images/sbs_board_final.JPG) i also use avr isp2 programmer but the status led does not turn green, but turn on in red colour, i followed the 6-pin instruction to modify my board, what happen to my board? i am using atmega 168-20pu , i use avr studio to program.   :'( :'( :'( urgent!!!!! it show isp mode error, it ask me to check power target...
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: JonHylands on July 27, 2007, 04:20:34 AM
Make sure you are powering your board when you try and program it.

- Jon
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: newbie on July 27, 2007, 04:43:52 AM
yes i power my board... help
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: JonHylands on July 27, 2007, 10:24:34 AM
Double check all the wires from the programming header are going to the correct place. Don't go by anything you have previously written down - start again from scratch.

(http://www.huv.com/ATmega168 6-pin.png)

That picture is looking down on the 6-pin header on your board, with pin 1 being on the bottom left.

- Jon
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: oliverj4455 on April 19, 2008, 07:42:35 PM
I am having real trouble with this. I bought the AVR ISP mkII and I wired it up according to the diagrams above (but my cable was the other way around, pin 1 was in a different place to where it seems to be on these diagrams).

Anyway when I plug it in and turn on the power on my board the light flashes orange. This means one of 2 things:

1. ISP cable is not mounted correctly.
2. There is a problem on the reset line.

No because I am sure I wired it up properly, it must be the second problem. Now I looked this one up further and I get the following information:

As a part of checking if the ISP target cable is correctly mounted it will, after Vtarget is applied, check if the reset line has the correct voltage and check if it is possible to force this line low.

Quote
If there is no pull-up resistor on the line, i.e. if the AVRISP mkII detects 0V on reset, then the status LED will blink orange.

If the pull-up resistor on the reset line is to strong, the short circuit protection will trigger when the reset is forced low by the AVRISP mkII. 

The Reset line should not have a stronger pull up than 4.7k ohm. Any de-coupling capacitor should not be larger than 10uF.

What is a pull-up resistor? and why should I have one on the line?

Thanks :D
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on April 26, 2008, 06:25:58 PM
Quote
Anyway when I plug it in and turn on the power on my board the light flashes orange. This means one of 2 things
another potential problem:
http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3177.msg24456

Quote
What is a pull-up resistor? and why should I have one on the line?
http://www.avrfreaks.net/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=62607
(google knows, too)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: malex on May 31, 2008, 08:07:04 PM
Doesn't the post from Admin and JonHylands seem to contradict?  On the admin diagram the ground ix next to reset (pin 1) and on Jon's the reset pin is diagonal from ground.

I've tried both and I get the error message "No target was detected.  Ensure the target has power."

I've measured all voltages and my regulator grounds, and connections all seem to be correct.  Could it be a software problem?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on June 07, 2008, 04:46:10 PM
lol yea Jon's is wrong . . . in fact, it contracts his included text :P

Quote
with pin 1 being on the bottom left.

Quote
Could it be a software problem?
Hmmm what programmer are you using?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: malex on June 10, 2008, 09:31:01 PM
LOL, nevermind I got it working.  It turns out my voltage source isn't that well connected.  If I tap it it turns off and tap it again it turns on.  I suppose It just got moved everytime I tried it.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: kirit on November 30, 2008, 08:57:32 AM
(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6way_atmel_230.jpg)

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6w_idc_header.jpg)
Before I burn the programmer/microcontroller, can someone tell me what the pin outs are for my avr is mk2. THanks. I look at the above diagram and it looks different from what i have, ive attached the file. It basically looks like my ribbon is in backwards. Do I assume that I have the following (looking into the pin holes /top view?)
---RED----|1 2|
-------------|3 4|]   <---hump
-------------|5 6|

thanks for the help, just that I searched for the info found this thread and it looks different than what I have in front of me.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: airman00 on November 30, 2008, 09:57:21 AM
your ribbon isnt backwards

(http://www.equinox-tech.com/products/images/equinox/6w_idc_header.jpg)
thats what your ribbon is supposed to plug into ( meaning your ribbon has a female connection and that shows a male connection)

Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on November 30, 2008, 10:40:31 AM
Airman he wasnt talking about the jack that it plugs into :P
He was pointing out the fact that the orientation bump (I dont even know what its called, I just know its so it gets plugged in the right way) is on the outside relative to the ribbon rather than on the inside as depicted in the diagram

Heres why:
The side that has the bump on the OUTSIDE relative to the bump is the part that connects to the header on your ROBOT. The side with the bump in the INSIDE relative to the bump is the part that connects to the header inside the PROGRAMMER. making sure to line up pin 1 on the programmer header with the pin 1 ribbon wire (The red one)

Did I get your question right, Kirit? I popped open my programmer just to make sure I was right with what I said up there too :P

Hope this helped!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: kirit on November 30, 2008, 02:01:51 PM
Airman he wasnt talking about the jack that it plugs into :P
He was pointing out the fact that the orientation bump (I dont even know what its called, I just know its so it gets plugged in the right way) is on the outside relative to the ribbon rather than on the inside as depicted in the diagram

Heres why:
The side that has the bump on the OUTSIDE relative to the bump is the part that connects to the header on your ROBOT. The side with the bump in the INSIDE relative to the bump is the part that connects to the header inside the PROGRAMMER. making sure to line up pin 1 on the programmer header with the pin 1 ribbon wire (The red one)

Did I get your question right, Kirit? I popped open my programmer just to make sure I was right with what I said up there too :P

Hope this helped!
Yep this is my problem, the hump on my ribbon is on the outside while the diagram has the hum on the inside. Im trying to understand what I should do, and Im still a bit confused. Do I have this part right:
---RED----|1 2|
-------------|3 4|]   <---hump
-------------|5 6|
where:
1- Prog_miso
2- Prog_sck
3- Prog_reset
4- Prog_vcc
5- Prog_mosi
6- Prog_gnd

thanks
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on November 30, 2008, 06:18:10 PM
When you look at both ends of the ribbon cable, is the hump on the outside on both ends?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: kirit on December 01, 2008, 02:07:35 AM
When you look at both ends of the ribbon cable, is the hump on the outside on both ends?
No, the one in the programmer is in the inside.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on December 01, 2008, 05:17:53 PM
Then youre ok. In the diagram, the Top Left picture is showing the top view of the bump-inside side of the ISP Ribbon cable. The Top Right picture is showing how it correlates with the headers that it will be plugging into on the board (in this case, the headers it will be plugging into are the ones inside the programmer). The bottom right picture is showing where pin 1 would be on the other end of the ribbon.

So heres how it looks from the Top:
 |1 2|=RED==RED==RED= |1 2|
[|3 4|============   [|3 4|
 |5 6|=============  |5 6|

From the Bottom:
 |5 6|============= |5 6|
[|3 4|============  [|3 4|
 |1 2|=RED==RED==RED=|1 2|

See what I mean?

Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Webbot on December 01, 2008, 07:49:47 PM
Trying to keep things simple.....yes, the cable looks like it is the wrong way around but then so is the connector. So in this situation 'two wrongs make a right' and cancel each other out. At the end of the day you can only attach the connector in two ways. One way wont work and the other will - and the wrong way wont cause anything to 'blow'. Since the AVRISP MKII has status LEDs then you can very easily discover which is the right way.

Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: kirit on December 02, 2008, 04:20:25 PM
Wow, you guys are great! I was basically pulling my hair out on this end. I need to solve another problem before i can hook things together, but thanks for this info. :)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: HDL_CinC_Dragon on December 02, 2008, 09:21:26 PM
Thats what we're here for :)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Ro-Bot28 on January 05, 2009, 11:46:01 PM
the way the circut is built in the tutorial. .could someone send a link to a place i could buy the programmer?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: pomprocker on January 06, 2009, 11:09:43 AM
the way the circut is built in the tutorial. .could someone send a link to a place i could buy the programmer?


If you're referring to the $50 robot tutorial, that board is built using a 2x5 header, the part number for that serial programmer is listed in the optional parts list. If you solder on the 2x3 header, than you would get the more expensive AVRISPMK2 USB programmer.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Billi on February 03, 2009, 04:15:45 PM
Hi, I'm new and trying to build the $50 robot. I'm now stucked because AVR Studio is unable to connect to my micro-controller for some reason even when my AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER is showing green light...

Can anyone shed some light what might be wrong?

Thanks!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: airman00 on February 03, 2009, 05:32:30 PM
http://narobo.com/articles/avrmkII.html
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Billi on February 03, 2009, 07:16:56 PM
Thanks for that! I couldn't get past the 'Select AVR MKII Programmer and select USB. ' part!

I also tried the Manual Firmware Upgrade shown in the AVR tools user's guide under Help... and AVR Studio would give me this error: 'No AVRISP mkII in boot mode found...'

Does this mean something is wrong with my programmer perhaps?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: airman00 on February 03, 2009, 07:54:48 PM
Thanks for that! I couldn't get past the 'Select AVR MKII Programmer and select USB. ' part!
Did you install drivers correctly?

Did you follow Admin's $50 Robot tutorial on what software to install?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Billi on February 03, 2009, 07:57:25 PM
Yes, I followed the steps of the tutorial exactly...

1)WinAVR-20081205-install.exe
2)aStudio4b528.exe
3)aStudio413SP1b557.exe
4)AVRStudio4.13SP2.exe

I even uninstalled and reinstalled again...
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Billi on March 01, 2009, 09:31:38 PM
Just want to update this for future $50 robot builders...

You'll need to download the latest registered version of the AVR studio in order to connect. This is essentially what I have to do in order to finally communicate with my micro-controller...

tech support at Atmel sent me this link: http://support.atmel.no/bin/customer?=&action=viewKbEntry&id=10. (http://support.atmel.no/bin/customer?=&action=viewKbEntry&id=10.) and I installed the latest AVR studio and now I'm finally able to continue building my $50 robot! ;)

Those who purchased the AVR ISP2 programmers later need to have this done for some reason...
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: davie_gravy on March 23, 2009, 03:49:42 AM
I'm having some trouble getting my code to upload to the microprocessor and I'm thinking my programmer might be wired wrong.  I purchased this programmer http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14 (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14) but the one they sent me doesn't look like that.  It's a in-line 6 pin and they don't have any schematics that match my pin layout.   So I've scoured this thread and took notice to the 6 pin wiring layout, but I still can't get my code to write so I was wondering if someone could take a look and tell me what the wiring pinout is for this specific programmer I have.  I've attached a picture for clarity.  Any help is greatly appreciated.  Thanks!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Razor Concepts on March 23, 2009, 06:05:04 AM
Sparkfun made an oops and sent out the wrong programmers. Contact them and they will send you the correct one.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: davie_gravy on March 23, 2009, 02:29:32 PM
Sparkfun made an oops and sent out the wrong programmers. Contact them and they will send you the correct one.

Thank you SO much!  I would have never knew.   Much Appreciated!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: jaabot on March 30, 2009, 10:31:28 PM
Hello:

I am working on the $50 robot with my son. We have begun the circuit board. I got to the part where it said "READ THIS POST" and that brought me here. When i ordered all my parts, I went to SparkFun.com and searched for AVR-PG1. This is the page that came up:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=AVR-PG1&x=16&y=13&search_section=products (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=AVR-PG1&x=16&y=13&search_section=products)

The closet match on that page was the PGM-00014, it also matched the price on the parts list of $12.95.

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14 (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14)

So this is what I ordered. The picture in the above URL shows a ribbon cable. The one I got has more of a phone or Cat 5 style cable. (Not sure this matters). The real question is, the cable that I received has six pins - 1 x 6, not 2 x 3 like all the posts here. So it seems that the (2) 5 pin headers are not what I want to add. Can I just do one six pin header? Or is the programmer I received not compatible? Should I order a different one? I have attached a couple pictures of what I have. Any assistance is most appreciated.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: jaabot on March 30, 2009, 10:36:29 PM
So right after I posted this message, I noticed page two of the thread and post above mine with the same issue. Looks like I need to contact Sparkfun and get a replacement. Just for clarity, is the one pictured here correct:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14 (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=14)

Thanks.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Asellith on April 13, 2009, 08:06:17 AM
Just to add my experience with the AVR ISP2 to the mix for reference. Do not try to install the USB drivers without installing AVR studio and the driver first. I still can't get my MK2 to work on this computer. I have it working on a laptop next to me. I tried uninstalling the drivers and everything but it will still not connect. If anyone has a fix for this I'd appreciate it.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: RoboDNA on May 28, 2009, 06:41:19 PM
I bought the AVR ISP2 Programmer not too long ago and because it has only 6 pins, I soldered in the 6 pin male headers onto the breadboard.  However, once I reach towards the end of Tutorial 3B where I need to solder in the yellow wires, I am very confused at what wire should be solder to which pin.  The schematics depicted are for the programmer with the 10 pins so it doesn't apply to my case.  I have read all the responses in this thread but haven't found anything that would help me understand what is going on.  If someone can give me some guidance, I'll greatly appeciate it!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: jaabot on May 28, 2009, 07:06:52 PM
Check out this post:

http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?topic=3292.msg25198#msg25198)

There is a ZIP attachment on the first post with a very nice PDF diagram that uses the 6 pin header. Should be what you need.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: SmAsH on May 29, 2009, 02:27:13 AM
pretty much the 10 pin is the same as the 6 pin expect for a few more gnds and a nc pin.
look at the forum post linked above to give you an idea.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Smyt3r on May 29, 2009, 09:11:33 AM
Please could someone offer help to a complete noob!
I'm building the $50 robot and I am at the stage where I set up the programmer header. My programmer is definitely 6-pin and I really need to know where and how to solder the headers onto my board. All the posts about it just confuse me, I probably seem pretty dumb.

Please could someone help me out as this project HAS to be finished in 2 days!
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: jaabot on May 29, 2009, 11:28:35 AM
Look at my last post (two up from yours). There is a link there to a PDF you can download. In the PDF, it has a really nice schematic diagram that shows the 6 pin header and where to connect the wires.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Webbot on May 29, 2009, 11:51:10 AM
Please could someone offer help to a complete noob!
I'm building the $50 robot and I am at the stage where I set up the programmer header. My programmer is definitely 6-pin and I really need to know where and how to solder the headers onto my board. All the posts about it just confuse me, I probably seem pretty dumb.

Please could someone help me out as this project HAS to be finished in 2 days!

jaabot has already given you the links to find the answer - but here's a shortcut to my PDF(in a zip) http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3292.0;attach=1304 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/robotforum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3292.0;attach=1304). Turn off the un-needed layers when viewing the PDF and you will see exactly what pins connect to what.

Or checkout Airmans tutorial at http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/290 (http://www.societyofrobots.com/member_tutorials/node/290)
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: sonictj on May 29, 2009, 04:53:46 PM
this is the page I always look at for reference http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article.php/avrtargetboards. (http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article.php/avrtargetboards.)

look about half way there should be pics of the 10 and 6 pin connectors with the appropriate names.

miso, mosi, sck, gnd, 5V, Reset

if you are still confused look at the pin configurations portion of the data sheet specific to your chip. The pins names and numbers will be spelled right out for you.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Smyt3r on May 31, 2009, 03:34:05 AM
Cheers guys I really appreciate your help. Problem solved!  ;D
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: SmAsH on May 31, 2009, 03:41:12 AM
do we get any pictures and or videos? you should know we love those... ;D
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: xCyclone on June 02, 2009, 01:51:17 PM
I am using the cheaper programmer... will it still work the way the tutorial says
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: SmAsH on June 02, 2009, 02:38:12 PM
the cheaper one has a 10 pin connector so keep doing it the way the tutorial says with a 2x5 header.
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: xCyclone on June 02, 2009, 02:41:58 PM
ok good. *PHEW* :D
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Slothery on July 20, 2010, 10:02:15 PM
    So gentlemen,
Pin one will always be the pin on the row through which the colored wire runs through and the pin closest to the bump? Is that pin one highlighted?
Title: Re: AVR ISP2 PROGRAMMER
Post by: Admin on July 22, 2010, 08:34:14 AM
You should see an arrow.

(http://www.societyofrobots.com/axon/images/axon_programmer_header.JPG)