Author Topic: Mobility Platform + Hall Sensors on LPC21xx(ARM)  (Read 2051 times)

Offline xkyveTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
Mobility Platform + Hall Sensors on LPC21xx(ARM)
« on: May 29, 2012, 02:45:36 AM »
The robot chassis: http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1060
Project code: https://github.com/xkyve/mobility [C Code, uVision 4 IDE]

I'm a student working on a project and my part is to design the mobility platform, which means:
I have to provide functions, methods for robot movement, like:

- simple commands (execute until other command is issued): forward, backward, left, right, set speed (PWM)
- advanced commands: rotate X degrees to the right/left, forward X cm, forward X seconds at speed Y (RPM), etc.
- battery monitor, current through motors monitor
- UART communication, bluetooth

Simple commands are working, I made the H-Bridge, set up the PWM. Communications are OK.
For the advanced commands I've installed Hall Sensors on the axis to measure motor angular speed. It's working. I can read the motors speed at any time in rotations/sec.

If I have this how can I implement the advanced commands, what's the best approuch, for example, to rotate 90 degrees to the left/right or to move 20 cm forwards?

Can you point me in the right direction?
Thank you

Offline mstacho

• Supreme Robot
  • Helpful? 10
Re: Mobility Platform + Hall Sensors on LPC21xx(ARM)
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2012, 12:50:55 PM »
can you be a bit more specific?  Which advanced commands are you talking about, and why aren't they working?

Are you talking about control like PID, or just how you encode the control information to send to the robot?

MIKE
Current project: tactile sensing systems for multifingered robot hands

Offline xkyveTopic starter

• Helpful? 1
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 03:19:52 AM »
Sorry if I wasn't very clear.

What is working:
- I can read the motor speed in rotations per second from the Hall sensors.
- PWM module, direction (simple robot movement is working)